School Safety: Guns in Schools

5/30/2022

Firearms remain at the center of the school safety debate as gun control and the prospect of arming school personnel garner national attention. Although it is only a small fraction of the school safety discussion, states continue to examine K-12 firearms statutes. The vast majority of states generally prohibit firearms in K-12 schools; however, almost all make some exception to their laws. The table below captures state statutes allowing and prohibiting firearms on K-12 grounds.

Guns in Schools

Which States Allow Firearms on K-12 School Grounds?

 

POLICY STATES

Anyone with permission from school authority

Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, KentuckyLouisianaMassachusetts, MichiganMinnesotaMontana, New JerseyNevada, OhioOregonSouth CarolinaTexas, UtahVermont

Concealed carry license holders

CC permit alone: Alabama, OregonUtah

CC permit and permission from school authority: Idaho, Indiana, MissouriOklahoma

School employees (other than security)

CC permit and permission from school authority: Idaho, Kansas

Permission from school authority and required training: Florida, South Dakota

Permit, permission from school authority, and required training: MissouriOklahomaTennessee (only in qualifying districts), TexasWyoming

School security

Alabama, California, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, North Dakota, New Mexico, NevadaNew YorkOhio, Oklahoma, Rhode IslandSouth Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, West Virginia

Only students prohibited

New Hampshire

No relevant statute

Hawaii

Law enforcement

45 States: Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, New Mexico, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode IslandSouth Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Allowing School Employees to Carry Firearms

At least nine states—Idaho, Florida, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming—specifically list school employees as exempt from their ban on firearms on K-12 school grounds. All of these states require a school employee to first get approval from a school authority such as the school board or superintendent. Seven states—Idaho, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming—also require school employees to be licensed to carry a firearm. In addition, seven states—Florida, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, South Dakota and Wyoming—also require school employees to complete training programs, typically provided by a local law enforcement agency.

Florida SB 7026, the comprehensive school safety legislation enacted in response to the events in Parkland, created a unique program—among a number of other provisions—that, according to one legislative staff summary:

“[A]llows school districts to decide whether to participate in the school guardian program if it is available in their county. A school guardian must complete 132 hours of comprehensive firearm safety and proficiency training, 12 hours of diversity training, pass a psychological evaluation, and initial drug test and subsequent random drug tests. No teacher will be required to participate. In fact, the legislation provides that personnel that are strictly classroom teachers with no other responsibilities cannot participate, with specified exceptions.” 

NCSL Resources

To return to the NCSL School Safety homepage, click here

For more information on broader state gun laws, contact the NCSL Criminal Justice Program