Back 

Energy Development and the Department of Defense State Policy Options

Energy Development and the Department of Defense: State Policy Options Webinar

7/1/2014
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Energy Development and the Department of Defense: State Policy Options

Thursday, July 31, 2014 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

As states and localities experience a dramatic increase in the number of siting and construction permits for utility-scale renewable energy, and associated electric power transmission projects, the potential for conflict with Department of Defense (DoD) activities increases. The resulting DoD impacts could be minimized by careful planning, including actions that the states and local communities may wish to support. Renewable energy and electrical transmission projects can interfere with nearby military installations and airspace by obstructing flight paths or creating electromagnetic interference. A number of states have included the DoD in the project planning or review phase with the goal to expedite the permitting process and mitigate potential impacts to DoD operations. Join us on this free webinar discuss best practices from legislators and state and federal executive offices.

Speakers

  • William Van Houten, Department of Defense Siting Clearinghouse
  • Representative Tom Sloan, Kansas

Webinar Presentation Slides

Space is limited.

View Webinar

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

Share this: 
NCSL Summit Resources
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures