2010 PreElection State Governor

2010 Election Note

Four states--Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey and Virginia--and three Senates--Kansas, New Mexico and South Carolina--do not have legislative elections in 2010. The Nebraska legislature is unicameral and nonpartisan. Live 2010 post-election results are based on unofficial results pending certification by their respective election officials.

Follow NCSL's Election Coverage

Prop50 Blog

2010 Pre-Election State Governors

This map shows the control of governors' offices before the Nov. 2, 2010, election. Democrats have the edge going into the election in the tally of governors—26-23—with one Independent. There are a record 37 races for governor this year. Because of term limits, retirements and primary defeats, there are 24 states guaranteed to have a new governor in January 2011. In addition, North Dakota Governor John Hoeven is running for an open U.S. Senate seat that he is heavily favored to win, which will force him to resign as governor. That will bring the number of guaranteed new governors to 25 in 2011. If just two of the 13 incumbent governors seeking re-election fail to win, that will tie the record for most rookie governors set in 1920 at 27.

Republican Democratic Independent Undecided


Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox


7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800


444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures