Pane_1_Col_12_Title

Research, Editorial, Legal and Committee Staff

Pane_1_Col_6_A

Committee overviewing submissions at conference table

Seeking Nominations for Legislative Staff

NCSL's Legislative Staff Nominating Committee is seeking nominations for legislative staff to serve on the Executive Committee for conference year 2021-2022. Staff vice chair candidate letter of declarations must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than Sept. 3, 2021.

Pane_1_Col_6_B

RELACS Virtual Meetings Series

Join us for a multi-part series of interactive webinars and virtual meetings—beginning in July—geared toward legislative staff who conduct research, draft and edit legislation, examine legal issues, and staff legislative committees.

Map Making

RELACS

Research Editorial Legal and Committee Staff(RELACS)

Pane_2_Col_4_A

Supreme Court Elections Cases

Join us on Thursday, September 9 at 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT for deep dive into two recently decided U.S. Supreme Court elections cases.

Pane_2_Col_4_B

Papers, laptop, glasses

The RELACS Report

The RELACS Report offers articles on research methods, tips for committee staff, legal issues, statutory construction, grammar and punctuation, and other topics related to serving legislatures.

Pane_2_Col_4_C

Man in front of a computer

RELACS Members' Material

Members of RELACS may join discussion groups, nominate peers for awards and request to be appointed to a committee.

Pane_4_Col_4_A

Man at a file cabinet

Learn More

Learn about the separation of powers, read online versions of legislative drafting manuals, and look at how other legislatures revise and publish their code. RELACS also maintains a library of webinars and presentations for your review.

Pane_4_Col_4_8