Capitol Ideas

Capitol Ideas is a periodic listing of story ideas and background information from new NCSL research. For more information, contact NCSL's Press Team.

Jon Kuhl Joins NCSL's Public Affairs Team

Jon Kuhl is NCSL's new public affairs specialist in the Washington, D.C., office. Jon is happy to assist reporters in need of NCSL data on any federal issue affecting states. In addition, NCSL's media and public affairs offices, in both Denver and Washington, D.C., can help members of the news media on state legislation and legislative activity across a broad spectrum of issue areas. Reporters can reach NCSL's policy analysts for comment through the media and public affairs offices in D.C. and Denver. Please help us welcome Jon to NCSL.


Condition of State Budgets - Tuesday webinar

The recession may officially be over, but states are still grappling with its effects. With the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funding coming to an end, crafting fiscal year 2012 budgets is proving to be challenging. How big are the budget gaps facing the states?  How are state revenues performing?

NCSL is hosting a webinar with the Pew Center on the States and the Rockefeller Institute of Government on Tuesday, April 19, at  2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT. Members of the media are welcome to register for free to attend the webinar.

NCSL will also be releasing the latest updated version of our State Budget Update report. To request a free copy of this report, please email our public affairs division.

In addition, during the webinar, NCSL will demonstrate a new database with information on the measures that states have been taking to close their budget gaps. 


State Immigration Legislation

Utah, through a comprehensive package of bills, was the first state this year to address immigration reform. The legislative debate was framed by the "Utah Compact,"  a set of five principles concerning federal solutions, law enforcement, families, the economy and a free society.  As of March 31, 2011, state lawmakers have introduced 52 immigration-related omnibus bills in 30 states.  Fourteen have failed, and 36 are pending. NCSL has a chart of these immigration bills, as of March 31, including their status, bill title, and brief summary.