Straight Ticket Voting

Straight Ticket Voting States


votingStraight-ticket voting (also called straight-party voting) allows voters to choose a party’s entire slate of candidates with just a single ballot marking. Voters make one punch or mark on the ballot in order to vote for every candidate of that party for each office on the ballot.

A total of 10 states allow or offer straight-ticket voting (STV). With a few exceptions, the straight-ticket option is available in all elections, including primaries, and applies to all offices on the ticket, including federal, state and local races. The states with STV are:         


State State




South Carolina











Recent Legislative or State Action

The number of states offering straight ticket voting has been declining in popularity over time. Most recently, Wisconsin eliminated it in 2011, North Carolina in 2013,  Rhode Island in 2014 and West Virginia in 2015. Every year several bills are introduced to eliminate it, and occasionally bills are introduced to establish straight ticket voting. 

Georgia – abolished STV in 1994.  Some Democrats in Georgia advocate reinstating it on the basis of several studies that have shown losses for Democrats, particularly among African American voters, since it was abolished.

Illinois – abolished STV in 1997.  It was a highly partisan battle in Illinois, with the Republican legislature and governor abolishing STV on the last day before the new legislature took office in January 1997.  The argument eventually wound up in the Illinois Supreme Court, which in 1998 refused to reverse the decision to abolish STV.

Michigan – attempted to abolish STV in 2001 with the passage of SB 173.  However, voters repealed the law in the 2002 election after the issue was petitioned on to the statewide ballot.

Missouri – abolished STV in 2006 as part of legislation mandating photo ID to vote.

New Hampshire – abolished STV in 2007.

North Carolina – abolished STV in 2014 as part of 2013 legislation (HB 589).

Rhode Island – abolished STV in 2015 as part of 2014 legislation (HB 8072).

South Dakota – abolished STV in 1996.  South Dakota’s action was bipartisan, with substantial majorities of both parties in the legislature approving the elimination of STV.

Wisconsin – abolished STV in 2011, effective for November 2012 elections. STV will remain available for UOCAVA voters

New Mexico – secretary of state decided not to offer a straight-ticket option in beginning with the November 2012 election. While it has historically been offered by tradition, it is not required by the state statutes or constitution.

West Virginia – abolished STV in 2015 (SB 249)

Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox


7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800


444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2015 by National Conference of State Legislatures