Skip to main content

2023 NCSL Legislative Staff Nominating Committee

May 3, 2023

Legislative Staff Recruitment | 2023-2024 NCSL Executive Committee

To:  All interested legislative staff

From: Anne Sappenfield, NCSL staff chair

NCSL's 2023 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee is seeking nominations for legislative staff to serve on the NCSL Executive Committee as staff vice chair or at-large members. The Executive Committee serves as the governing body of the organization, providing strategic focus in terms of mission, leadership vision and policies. This includes developing and further enhancing the programs that support the work of legislative staff across the country. The task of the 2023 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee, which will meet at the NCSL Legislative Summit in Indianapolis on Aug. 14-16, is to nominate a slate of 16 members and three officers of the NCSL Executive Committee for the conference year 2023-2024.

There are five vacancies among the at-large legislative staff positions on the Executive Committee this year. The vacancies are created by Executive Committee members reaching their limit of three consecutive one-year terms or having declined to seek another one-year term.

Legislative staff interested in serving on the 2023-2024 NCSL Executive Committee must review the Nominating Procedures information and write a letter of declaration, which should be postmarked or electronically transmitted by the following deadline dates. Declarations and letters of support must be addressed to Jon Heining, Chair, NCSL 2023 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee, in care of the NCSL office in Washington, D.C., at this address. NCSL will acknowledge receipt and notify all members of the nominating committee.

Deadlines: Letters of Declaration and Support

  • Staff Vice Chair Candidates: The letter of declaration must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than June 16, 2023.
  • At-Large Membership Candidates: The letter of declaration must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than June 30, 2023.
  • Letters of Support: All letters of support must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than July 31, 2023.

Submit all letters to NCSL using the following address:

Jon Heining
Chair, NCSL Legislative Staff Nominating Committee
Attn: Jackie Harrison
National Conference of State Legislatures
444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
or email to:
or fax to: 202-559-3355

Legislative Staff At-Large Members: Changes on NCSL’s Executive Committee 2023-2024 Conference Year (as of May 2023)
Vacancies (5) Returning Members (11)

Members Completing Three-Year Term (5)

  • Tim Bommel, Missouri
  • Jon Courtney, New Mexico
  • Matt Gehring, Minnesota
  • Othni Lathram, Alabama
  • John Snyder, Kentucky
  • Martin Brock, North Carolina
  • Natalie Castle, Colorado
  • Lonnie Edgar, Mississippi,
  • Doug Himes, Tennessee
  • Eric Katz, New York
  • Terri Kondeff, Idaho
  • Rich Olsen, West Virginia
  • Jill Reinmuth, Washington
  • Paul Smith, New Hampshire
  • Betsy Theroux, Georgia
  • Will Tracy, Arkansas
  • Contact NCSL

  • For more information on this topic, use this form to reach NCSL staff.