Skip to main content

Steven D. Gold Award

March 6, 2021

The Steven D. Gold Award recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to public financial management in the field of intergovernmental relations and state and local finance. The award is given annually by NCSL, the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management, and the National Tax Association, in memory of Steve Gold, an active member of all three organizations. The award is presented by one of the organizations each year.

Steve Gold, who died in 1996 from cancer, had an exemplary career as an analyst of state and local fiscal issues. Before his death, he was the co-director of the Urban Institute's New Federalism project. Before that, he was the director of the Center for the Study of States at the Rockefeller Institute of SUNY, and director of Fiscal Studies at NCSL. He had a remarkable ability to span the interests of scholars, elected officials, practitioners, and policy advocates in an evenhanded manner. As an honest broker of issues, he did not engage in partisanship or uninformed advocacy.

Winners of the Steven D. Gold Award
Year Winner Organization Sponsor
2021 Joan Youngman Department of Valuation and Taxation at the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy NTA
2020 Robert Costrell University of Arkansas APPAM
2019 David Teal Alaska Legislative Finance Division NCSL
2018 Therese McGuire The Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University  NTA
2017 John M. Yinger The Maxwell School of Citzenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University APPAM
2016 Jonathan Ball Utah Legislative Fiscal Analyst Office NCSL
2015 John Mikesell Indiana University NTA
2014 Ronald C. Fisher Michigan State University APPAM
2013 Stephen Klein Vermont Joint Fiscal Office NCSL
2012 David Sjoquist Georgia State University  Georgia State University NTA
2011 Andrew Reschovsky  Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin APPAM
2010 Gary Olson Michigan Senate Fiscal Agency NCSL
2009 George Zodrow Rice University NTA
2008 Elizabeth G. Hill Legislative Analyst (Retired), State of California APPAM
2007 Robert Lang Director, Legislative Fiscal Bureau Wisconsin NCSL
2006 Gary Cornia Brigham Young University NTA
2005 Robert P. Strauss H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy and Management APPAM
2004 David Crotts North Carolina Legislature NCSL
2003 William Fox University of Tennessee-Knoxville NTA
2002 Helen Ladd Duke University APPAM
2001 Robert Keaton Chief Budget Analyst and Director of the State Senate Fiscal Office, State of Louisiana NCSL
2000 Robert Ebel World Bank Institute NTA
1999 Robert Greenstein and Iris Lav Center on Budget and Policy Priorities APPAM
1998 Victor Vernon Chief Legislative Fiscal Officer, State of Alabama NCSL
1997 John Shannon Urban Institute NTA
  • Contact NCSL

  • For more information on this topic, use this form to reach NCSL staff.