2011 Spring Forum and Transportation Committee Meeting Presentations

capitol in springApril 14 – 15, 2011
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Washington, DC

Transportation Standing Committee

Pdf logo To view PDF files, the following is a link to install Adobe Acrobat Reader


Thursday, April 14

NCSL PPP Working Group Meeting

New federal surface transportation reauthorization legislation could redefine federal policy concerning public-private partnerships. This session featured an update on federal PPP policy developments, a presentation on California's PPP activity, and a business meeting of the working group to discuss progress on current group initiatives.

Meeting Summary

Jennifer Jones, Texas Sunset Advisory Commission


  • Jennifer Ahlin, P3 Program Manager, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Office of Innovative Program Delivery
  • Fawn Johnson, Correspondent, National Journal Group
  • Jessica Digiambattista, Fiscal and Policy Analyst, California Legislative Analyst's Office View Presentation

Hill Meetings

  • U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) Staff
  • U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) Staff
  • U.S. Congressman Nick Rahall (D-WV) Staff

Meeting with the U.S. Department of Transportation

  • Joanna Liberman Turner, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Beth Osborne, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy

Friday, April 15

Rethinking Federal Highway Funding

Does the current federal model for funding highways offer states a fair deal? In this session, speakers considered the existing approach to distributing highway funds among the states and explore proposed alternatives, including reform efforts in Congress, in light of federal surface transportation reauthorization developments.

Jennifer Jones, Texas Sunset Advisory Commission, Staff Vice Chair


  • Steve Cohen, Assistant Director, Physical Infrastructure Issues, GAO  View Presentation
  • Shirley Ybarra, Senior Transportation Policy Analyst, Reason Foundation
  • Jack Basso, Director of Program Finance and Management, AASHTO  View Presentation
  • Chandler Morse, Office of U.S. Congressman Jeff Flake (R-AZ)

MPOs in the States

Metropolitan Planning Organizations are federally-mandated and federally-funded transportation planning organizations for urban areas of 50,000 or more people. This session explored the role of MPOs in the states, the oversight of entities outside state agencies, and the role of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Eric Bugaile, Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee, Immediate Past Staff Chair


  • Phillip Herr, Director, Physical Infrastructure Issues, GAO   View Presentation
  • DeLania Hardy, Executive Director, Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (AMPO)  View Presentation
  • David Robertson, Executive Director, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
  • Ron Kirby, Director of Transportation Planning, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments  View Presentation

Federal Update and Business Meeting

Federal efforts on surface transportation reauthorization, NCSL policy discussion and other topics were addressed.

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Minnesota, Immediate Past Chair

A New Look at State Transportation Governance and Finance

For the last year, NCSL has partnered with the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) to produce a groundbreaking, 50-state review of the roles and relationships of state legislatures and DOTs. In this session, the project and its findings were presented by NCSL and AASHTO staff, followed by reflections from legislative and DOT leaders on current issues and trends in state transportation governance and finance.

Representative Linda Harper-Brown, Texas, Committee Chair


  • Joung Lee, Deputy Director, AASHTO Center for Excellence in Project Finance
  • Jaime Rall, Transportation Policy Specialist, NCSL  View Presentation
  • Jennifer Jones, Assistant Director, Texas Sunset Advisory Commission and Co-Chair, NCSL-AASHTO Task Force
  • Joe Erskine, Deputy Secretary for Finance and Administration, Kansas Department of Transportation and Co-Chair, NCSL-AASHTO Task Force