Prepaid Point of Sale Status

April 17, 2017

E9-1-1 fees have historically been collected from telecommunications users on their monthly bills and remitted to governments by telecommunications providers. However, the lack of a billing relationship between the prepaid wireless user and the sellers and providers of prepaid wireless service means that the existing collection methodologies are not well suited to prepaid wireless, causing administrative and legal disputes that inhibit collection of E9-1-1 fees on prepaid wireless service.

As such, the National Conference of State Legislatures developed model legislation for states that creates a uniform methodology for collecting 911 fees from prepaid wireless consumers which would provide needed funding for 911 systems while minimizing administrative costs for states and providers of prepaid wireless service. The list below shows states that have adopted the model legislation.

911 Point-of-Sale legislation has been enacted in 40 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands:

  • Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, the Virgin Islands, Washington and Wyoming.

The NCSL Model Legislation

The NCSL Resolution on the Collection of E911 Fees

For more information, contact Max Behlke or Jake Lestock in the NCSL Washington D.C. Office at 202-624-5400.