Broadband Virtual Meeting Series: Access and Expansion

10/16/2020

abstract broadband graphic

NCSL Virtual Meetings allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most virtual meetings will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

The NCSL Communications, Financial Services and Interstate Commerce Committee is launching a series of three in-depth meetings on broadband access and expansion issues.

These meetings will feature NCSL staff and other experts. Participants will also have the opportunity to share what’s happening in their state, ask questions, and let NCSL staff know how they can be of further assistance.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar. For additional instructions for accessing the upcoming NCSL virtual meetings, click here.

Upcoming Virtual Meetings

Spectrum Licensing by the States
Tuesday, Nov. 10 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) recently voted to allow state governments to lease spectrum in the 4.9 GHz band for flexible use. This traditionally underutilized band has been reserved for public safety entities, but now a single state lessor will be able to make leasing decisions for the 50 megahertz of spectrum, including for commercial use, public safety, electric utilities or critical infrastructure. Some states may need to pass enabling legislation to participate, and the licenses may result in significant revenue. Learn how the new licensing scheme will affect public safety and interoperability, as well as opportunities for increased connectivity in rural areas.

REGISTER NOW

Expanding Broadband Opportunities in Rural America
Thursday, Nov. 19 | 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT

Access to high-speed broadband internet is critically important for economic opportunity, education and job creation, especially in America’s rural communities. Hear from the Federal Communications Commission about what the federal government is doing to expand rural broadband and explore how others are working to strengthen America’s connectivity.

REGISTER NOW

Expanding Broadband for Education
Monday, Dec. 7 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

The COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on distance learning has helped illuminate the digital divide—the gap between those who have access to high-speed internet and devices and those who do not. Despite some evidence that the divide is narrowing, the dramatic shift to a virtual world shows a large gap still exists. Students struggling with online education amplifies the need for consistent, quality broadband and devices in all areas of the country and the risk of being left farther behind the longer the pandemic continues. This webinar will discuss efforts to close the digital divide for students.

Co-sponsored by the NCSL Education and Labor and Economic Development Committees

REGISTER NOW