2009 Family Medical Leave Legislation


More than 250 legislative bills related to family medical leave were introduced during the 2009 legislative session.  Laws were adopted in 13 states, most making changes to existing laws or providing for leave benefits.

As of August 28, 2009, states enacting laws were Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Nevada, New Jersey (2008-09 biennial), New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas and Washington.

2009 Family Medical Leave Legislative Summary 

Please note the summary should be used for general informational purposes and not as a legal reference. 
NCSL is unable to provide guidance to citizens or businesses regarding family leave laws.