SNAP Employment and Training: Food Security through Economic Mobility

4/22/2022

webinar graphic

Thursday, June 23, 2022 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) is well known for providing nutrition support for individuals and families with low incomes. The lesser-known SNAP Employment and Training Program (SNAP E&T) helps eligible participants develop skills to achieve economic mobility. SNAP E&T provides employability assessments, training, transportation and child care, all of which help participants attain and sustain employment. Learn about opportunities state legislatures have to boost economic recovery and decrease food insecurity by investing in their SNAP E&T program using funding from the American Rescue Plan Act and other sources.

Register here

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speaker Bios

Moderator:

  • Rachel Gragg, Office of Employment and Training, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, USDA Food and Nutrition Service

Speakers:

  • Nick Moore, director of the Governor’s Office of Education and Workforce Transformation, Office of Alabama Governor Kay Ivey
  • Sage Learn, director of government relations, Portland Community College