Missouri Early Childhood Policy Symposium for Legislators and Legislative Staff


exterior photo of the Missouri capitol building

On Jan. 14, 2021, NCSL staff, members of the Missouri Legislature, Kids Win Missouri and other key stakeholders participated in an early learning symposium for legislators and legislative staff. This page includes relevant handouts, PowerPoint presentations and additional information. The legislative co-host committee includes the following members: Representative Louis Riggs, Representative Brenda Shields, Senator Karla Eslinger, Senator Lauren Arthur, Representative Peter Merideth and Senator Brian Williams. If your state is interested in a similar in-state symposium email Alison May to learn more. 

Speaker biographies | Printable agenda | View Archived Recording

Symposium Agenda
11:30 a.m.-Noon

Welcome, Introductions and Overview

Presenter: Governor Michael L. Parson
Slide Deck

Noon-12:45 p.m. 

Early Brain Science and Brain Architecture

Presenter: Sarah Lytle, Director of Outreach and Education, Institute for Learning & Brain Sciences, University of Washington
Slide Deck

12:45-1:30 p.m.  

The Economic and Business Case for Investing in Early Childhood


Carolyn Chrisman, Executive Director, Kirksville Regional Economic Development Inc., Missouri Rural Enterprise and Innovation Center, and Director, Kirksville Small Business Development Center
Tyler Nottberg, Chairman & CEO,U.S. Engineering Company Holdings
Linda Rallo, Vice President, Aligned

1:30-2:30 p.m.

Investing in our Youngest Missourians


Kelly Dudley, Early Childhood Wellness Expert, Department of Mental Health 
Jeriane Jaegers-Brenneke, Child Care Subsidy Administrator, Department of Social Services
Nancy Scherer, Section Administrator, Section of Child Care Regulation, Department of Health & Senior Services
Pam Thomas, Chief of Early Learning, Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
Emily Van Schenkhof, Executive Director, Children’s Trust Fund

Additional NCSL Resources 

External Resources