License Restrictions for Failure to Pay Child Support

9/4/2019

All 50 states have statutory or administrative provisions authorizing the suspension or revocation of various licenses for failure to pay child support. The licenses affected generally are driver's, occupational, professional (e.g., law), business and recreational (e.g., hunting and fishing). Each state imposes its own criteria for the amount of arrears the obligor (the person who owes child support) must owe for a license to be suspended or revoked and the amount of time the obligor must be delinquent before suspension or revocation occurs. Related provisions include procedures to halt revocation proceedings, reinstate licenses and issue temporary or restricted licenses.

In recent years, some legislatures have begun easing up on license restrictions that would impair the obligor’s ability to earn income or otherwise meet their parental obligations. For example, 15 states allow for temporary driver’s licenses if suspension would prevent the obligor from traveling to and from work, parenting time or religious services. Some states allow for temporary occupational or professional licenses while the administrative or judicial review is being conducted.

To find out more about what a particular state is doing regarding child support enforcement or licensing restrictions, visit the Child Support and Family Law Legislation Database.

State-by-State License Restrictions

State Statute Affected Licenses Delinquency Threshold/Due Process Procedures/Exceptions

Alabama

Ala. Code §§ 30-3-170 through 30-3-179

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Sporting

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of six months or more.

Reinstatement:

  • 60 days’ notice before suspension unless obligor: (1) Pays the entire debt stated in the notice; (2) Enters into an approved payment plan; (3) Complies with subpoenas or warranties relating to paternity or child support. proceedings; or (4) Requests an administrative hearing within 15 days of receipt of notice.
  • License may be revoked if obligor has received two suspensions pursuant to this article in the previous 12 months.

Alaska

Alaska Stat. § 25.27.246

Alaska Stat. § 25.27.244

Driver's
Occupational
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of four times the monthly support amount.

Reinstatement:

  • Driver’s license statute allows for an administrative and judicial review over a 150-day period before suspension.
  • Occupational statute issues a 150-day temporary license while the administrative and judicial review is being conducted.
  • If a licensee wishes to challenge being included on the list, the licensee shall submit to the agency a written request for review within 30 days after the notice.

Arizona

Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-517 through 25-519

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 32-3701

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: Arrears in the amount of six months or more; or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant.

Reinstatement: 15 days to request an administrative review after receiving the second notice for a court hearing to deny or suspend license. Board or agency shall suspend or deny the license within 30 days after receiving the notice of noncompliance.

Arkansas

Ark. Code Ann. § 9-14-239

Ark. Code Ann. § 16-22-102

Driver's
Professional
Occupational
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of three months or more; or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant. Arrears in the amount of six months for law licenses.

Reinstatement: Child support agency will notify the obligor that a request will be made to the department to suspend the license or permanent license plate 60 days after the notification unless a hearing within the office is requested in writing within 30 days.

California

Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 490.5

Cal. Fam. Code § 17520

Business
Driver's
Occupational
Professional    

Recreational

Notary public

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of 30 calendar days or more.

Reinstatement: a one-time temporary license will be issued for 150 days. A driver's license, excluding commercial driver's licenses, may be extended an additional 150 days.

Colorado

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 26-13-123

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 26-13-126

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 42-2-127.5

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 8-1-152

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-4-106

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-21-110

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-31-107

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-33-110

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-33.5-107

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-34-107

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-35-116

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 24-36-118

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 25-1-125

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 26-1-130

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 26-13-126

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 35-1-113

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 43-1-119

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of six months while paying less than 50% of monthly child support obligation every month; or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant.

Reinstatement:

  • Obligor has 30 days to request an administrative review in writing.

Exception:

  • Obligor may be issued a restricted, probationary driver's license up to a 90-day period.

Connecticut

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-220

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Commercial

Delinquency Threshold: 90-day delinquency; or failure to maintain medical insurance; or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant.

Reinstatement: Obligor has 30 days to comply with the suspension order.

Delaware

Del. Code tit. 13, § 2216

Del. Code tit. 13, § 516

Driver's  

Occupational

Professional 
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of $1,000 or more or retroactive support and is 30 or more days delinquent.

Reinstatement: Obligor has 20 days after receiving final written notice of suspension to request a hearing, pay arrears in full, surrender to bench warrant, or consent to a payment plan. Hearing shall convene 30 days after receiving obligor's written request.

District of Columbia

D.C. Code § 46-225.01

Driver's
Professional
Recreational

Business

Sporting

Car Registration

Delinquency Threshold: 60-day delinquency

Reinstatement: Obligor is given 30 days' notice before action occurs and is entitled to an administrative hearing. Within that time, the obligor can pay the arrears in full or agree to and comply with a payment schedule that requires the obligor to make monthly child support payments towards the amount overdue in an amount equal to 25% of the obligor's current monthly child support obligation.

Florida

Fla. Stat. § 61.13015

Fla. Stat. § 559.79

Fla. Stat. § 409.2598

Fla. Stat. § 61.13016

Fla. Stat. § 322.058

Fla. Stat. § 328.42

Fla. Stat. § 455.203

Driver's
Occupational

Professional

Recreational

Business
Vehicle Registration
Vessel Registration

Delinquency Threshold:

  • For professional, business licenses, teachers’ certificates and vessel registration: When all appropriate enforcement remedies have been exhausted.
  • For driver’s licenses and vehicle registration: When obligor is 15 days delinquent in making a payment; or failure to comply with a subpoena or order to appear.

Reinstatement:

  • Professional, business, teachers and vessels: Obligor has 30 days after the second notice to pay owed child support or reach an agreement to pay delinquency. After failure to comply after the second notice, the IV-D agency may petition with the court for license suspension.
  • Driver’s License/Vehicle Registration: Obligor has 20 days to pay owed support in full, enter a written agreement to pay delinquency, or file a petition to contest the delinquency filed.

Georgia

Ga. Code § 19-11-9.3

Ga. Code § 19-6-28.1

Ga. Code § 43-1-19

Ga. Code § 43-39A-14

Ga. Code § 43-40-15

Driver's
Occupational
Professional

Business

Delinquency Threshold: Arrears for 60 days or more; ability to pay and willfulness of nonpayment are factors.

Reinstatement: Obligor has 20 days from the date of the mailing to come into compliance with the order or to reach an agreement to pay the delinquency with the agency. Obligor may also request, in writing, an administrative or judicial review within 20 days.

Hawaii

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 576D-13

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 576D-1

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 436B-19.5

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold:

  • three months' delinquency for driver's or recreational license.
  • six months' delinquency for professional and vocational licenses.

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days to request, in writing, a hearing to contest the notice of the suspension/revocation, or to enter into a payment plan.

Idaho

Idaho Code §§ 7-1401 through 7- 1417

Idaho Code § 7-612

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational 

Business

Concealed Carry

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in an amount greater than or equal to 90 days or $2,000; or failure to comply with a subpoena

Reinstatement: obligor has 21 days after being served with notice to pay the arrears in full, establish a payment plan, or schedule a hearing.

Illinois

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 5, § 100/10-65

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 625, § 5/7-100 through 5/7-102

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 750, § 5/505

Driver's
Occupational
Professional

Delinquency Threshold:

  • 90-day delinquency for driver's licenses
  • 30-day delinquency for all other licenses

Reinstatement: obligor has 60 days from date of notice to pay current support, pay all past support, and meet health care obligations. Obligor may request a hearing to contest the notice within 45 days.

Exceptions: Family financial responsibility driving permit: a permit granting limited driving privileges for employment or medical purposes following a suspension of driving privileges under the Family Financial Responsibility Law.

Indiana

Ind. Code § 31-16-12-7 through § 31-16-12-10

Ind. Code § 31-25-4-2

Ind. Code § 31-25-4-32

Ind. Code § 31-25-4-33

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: three-month delinquency; or $2,000 in arrears; or all appropriate enforcement remedies have been exhausted

Reinstatement: For other licenses, obligor has 20 days to request a hearing; or pay child support arrearage in full or establish an income withholding or payment plan to pay arrears.

Iowa

Iowa Code § 252J.1 through 252J.9

Iowa Code § 598.23A

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears for three months or more; or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant

Reinstatement: Obligor has 20 days after the mailing of the notice to request a conference in writing, to pay the child support arrearage in full, comply with an existing written agreement, or pay the total amount of delinquent support due.

Kansas

Kan. Stat. § 74-146

Kan. Stat. § 74-147

Kan. Stat. § 23-3119

Kan. Stat. § 23-3120

Driver’s

Professional

Delinquency Threshold: contempt of court in child support proceeding; amount equal to or greater than three months child support.

Reinstatement: obligor will be issued six-month temporary professional license. Extension will only occur for an additional 30 days to prevent hardship.

Kentucky

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 186.570

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 205.712

Driver’s
Occupational
Professional

Recreational

Delinquency Threshold:

  • Arrears prior to 1/1/94 are exempt
  • Commercial driver’s licenses are exempt. For all other licenses, arrears in the amount of six months or more

Reinstatement: Obligor has 20 days from the date of notice to request informational hearing. Suspension will continue until arrears are eliminated, child support payments are being paid in accordance with a court or administrative order, or obligor complies with a subpoena or warrant relating to paternity or child support.

Louisiana

La. Rev. Stat. § 9:315.30 through 9:315.47

La. Rev. Stat. § 37:2952

Driver’s
Occupational

Professional Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: 90-day delinquency

Reinstatement: Obligor has 20 days after receipt of notice to request an administrative hearing, pay arrears in full, establish payment schedule, or meet health insurance obligations.

Exceptions: If obligor is in partial compliance, the office of motor vehicles may issue the obligor a temporary license valid for a period not to exceed 120 days. At the request of an obligor or other individual for whom an undue financial hardship will occur or has occurred as a result of the loss of his driver's license and upon a showing of good faith, the court may issue an order of partial compliance authorizing the issuance of a temporary license in accordance with R.S. 9:315.33(C).

Maine

Me. Rev. Stat. 19-A § 65.2101

Me. Rev. Stat. 19-A § 65.2201

Me. Rev. Stat. 19-A § 65.2603-A

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: at least 60 days in arrears; or obligor has been 30 days delinquent more than twice in the last 24 months

Reinstatement: Obligor has 20 days after receipt of notice to request an administrative hearing, pay arrears in full, establish payment schedule, or meet health insurance obligations.

Exceptions: A board may waive any applicable requirement for reissuance, renewal or other extension if it determines that the imposition of that requirement places an undue burden on the person and that waiver of the requirement is consistent with the public interest.

Maryland

Md. Fam. Law Code Ann. 10 § 119 Md. Fam. Law Code Ann. § 10-119.3

Driver's
Occupational
Professional

Business

Delinquency Threshold:

  • Driver's licenses: 60 days in arrears
    Other licenses: 120 days in arrears

Reinstatement: Obligor will have reasonable opportunity to request an investigation of their alleged compliance.  Obligor may appeal results of the investigation within 20 days of receiving notice of results or establish a payment schedule.

Exceptions: obligor may be issued a work-restricted license.

Massachusetts

Mass. Ann. Laws 119A § 16

Mass. Gen. Laws 62C § 47A

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: generally, 8 weeks in arrears; or failure to comply with subpoena or warrant.

Reinstatement: Obligor has 30 days to request a hearing or make payment before final determination. Upon issuance of final determination, IV-D agency notifies licensing authority to suspend license. Licensing authority notifies obligor that he or she has 10 days to resolve the child support debt by making a lump sum payment or entering into a payment agreement. Within 45 days of receipt of final determination letter and upon exhaustion of all administrative remedies, obligor may request judicial review.

Michigan

Mich. Comp. Laws §552.628

Mich. Comp. Laws § 338.3432

Mich. Comp. Laws § 338.3433

Mich. Comp. Laws § 338.3434

Mich. Comp. Laws § 338.3434a

Mich. Comp. Laws § 552.629

Mich. Comp. Laws § 552.630

Mich. Comp. Laws § 552.645

Driver's
Occupational
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears greater than or equal to two months

Reinstatement: Obligor has 21 days after being served with notice to pay the arrears in full or request a hearing.

Minnesota

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 171.186

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 518A.66

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 518A.67

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 518A.68

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 518A.69

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 214.101

Driver's
Occupational
Professional

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of three months or more.

Reinstatement: Obligor has 90 days to establish a written payment agreement. Obligor has 30 days from the date of mailing of the notice to request, in writing, a hearing to contest suspension. Obligor may appeal to the chancery court within 30 days of the suspension.

Exceptions: the commissioner may issue a limited license to a person whose license has been suspended under this section if the person qualifies for a limited license under section 171.30. if the driver needs a license to attend a treatment or counseling program; if status as a homemaker will affect the educational, medical or nutritional needs of dependents; attendance of a postsecondary institution.

Mississippi

Miss. Code Ann. § 93-11-153

Miss. Code Ann. § 93-11-155

Miss. Code Ann. § 93-11-157

Miss. Code Ann. § 93-11-159

Miss. Code Ann. § 93-11-163

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: 30-day delinquency

Reinstatement: Obligor has 90 days after receipt of notice to pay owed support or agree to a payment schedule. Obligor may request hearing on mistake of fact. Obligor may appeal to the chancery court within 30 days of the suspension.

Missouri

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 454.1000 through 454.1025

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of three months or $2,500, whichever is less

Reinstatement: obligor has 60 days from date notice is served to pay arrears in full, enter into or comply with a payment plan, or request a hearing before the court or director.

Exceptions: The court, but not the director, may stay suspension of a license upon a showing that a suspension or continued suspension of a license would create a significant hardship to the obligor, the obligor's employees, any legal dependents residing in the obligor's household, or persons, businesses or other entities served by the obligor.

Montana

Mont. Code Ann. § 40-5-701 through 40-5-713

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of greater than or equal to six months.

Reinstatement: obligor has 60 days from date notice is served to pay arrears in full, enter into or comply with a payment plan, comply with a subpoena or warrant, or show cause in a hearing the suspension is inappropriate.

Exceptions: The support enforcement entity may stay suspension of a license upon a showing that suspension or continued suspension of a license would create a significant hardship to the obligor, to the obligor's employees, to legal dependents residing in the obligor's household, or to persons, businesses, or other entities served by the obligor.

Nebraska

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 43-3301 through 43-3326

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of three months or more, noncompliance with payment plan

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days from the issuance of notice to request a judicial or administrative review.

Nevada

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 425.500 through 425.560

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 391.321

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: owes $1000 and not less than two months delinquent.

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days from receipt of notice to pay arrears in full, enter into or comply with a payment plan, provide proof of medical insurance of the child, comply with a subpoena or warrant, or submit a written request for a hearing.

New Hampshire

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 161-B: 2

§ 161-B:9

§ 161-B:10

§ 161-B-11

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: 60-day delinquency; or failure to maintain health insurance coverage

Reinstatement: obligor has 21 days from receipt of notice to request, in writing, a supervisory review.

New Jersey

N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2A:17-56.41 through 2A:17-56.46

N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2A:17-56.8

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of six months or more; All methods have been exhausted; and failure to provide health care coverage.

Reinstatement: within 30 days of postmark date, the obligor must pay the full amount of arrears, provide proof of health care coverage for the child, respond to a subpoena, or make a written request for a court hearing to the Probate Division. Additionally, a license is suspended automatically upon the issuance of a warrant.

New Mexico

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 40-5A-1 through § 40-5A-13

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: 30-day delinquency

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days from date of notice to provide the board with a certified statement from the department stating compliance with a judgment and order for support, subpoenas, or warrants relating to paternity or child support proceedings. Obligor has a right to a hearing.

New York

N.Y. Dom. Rel. Law § 13-244

N.Y. Dom. Rel. Law § 244-c

N.Y. Educ. Law § 6509-b

N.Y. Fam. Ct. § 458-b

N.Y. Gen. Obl. § 3-503

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears greater than or equal to four months

Reinstatement: obligor has 45 days from date of notice to pay arrears in full, establish a payment schedule, or request a review.

Exceptions: If court determines that the suspension of the license of the respondent would create an extreme hardship, the court may, in lieu of suspension, suspend the order to the licensing entity for a period not to exceed one year. If on or before the expiration of this period the court has not received competent proof that the respondent is in full compliance with their support obligation and has fully complied, the court shall cause the suspension of the order to be removed and reinstated.

North Carolina

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 50-13.12

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 110-142 through 110-142.2

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of one month; or failure to comply with a subpoena

Reinstatement: obligor has 14 days from the date of the notice to request a review to establish a payment schedule or contest the order. An obligor may file a request with the clerk of superior court for certification that the obligor is no longer delinquent in child support payments upon submission of proof satisfactory to the clerk that the obligor has paid the delinquent amount in full.

North Dakota

N.D. Cent. Code §14-08.1-06 through §14-08.1-07

N.D. Cent. Code § 50-09-08.6

Driver's

Occupational    

Professional    

Recreational           

Delinquency Threshold: arrears of three times the monthly amount.

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days after notice to become current on support obligation or make a payment plan.

Ohio

Ohio Rev. Code § 3123.41 through 3123.49

Driver's
Occupational
Professional    

Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: obligor hasn't paid 50% of monthly obligation for 90 days prior to final determination of default.

Reinstatement: obligor will be sent notice about suspension. The obligor must request a hearing within seven days to avoid suspension. License may be reinstated when obligor makes full payment to the office of child support in the department of job and family services.

Oklahoma

Okla. Stat. tit. 43, § 139.1

Okla. Stat. tit. 56, § 240.15

Professional

Occupational

Business

Recreational

Driver’s

Delinquency Threshold: Obligor has failed to make child support payments for at least 90 days, has failed to make full payments pursuant to a court-ordered payment plan for at least 90 days, has failed to obtain or maintain health insurance coverage as required for at least 90 days, has failed to comply with subpoenas relating to paternity or child support proceedings, or has failed to comply with an order to submit to genetic testing to determine paternity.

Reinstatement: When all support due is paid in full and the obligor has complied with all other provisions of the order for support.

Exceptions: Obligor may be placed on probation by agreeing to a payment plan to make all future child support payments as required by the current order, pay the full amount of the arrearage by lump sum or by making monthly payments.

Oregon

Or. Rev. Stat. § 25.750 through 25.785

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of $2,500 or three-month delinquency, whichever is greater

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days from the date of the notice to contest in writing, comply with the subpoena, or enter into a written agreement.

Pennsylvania

23 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 4355

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of three months or more

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days after the date of mailing the notice to pay arrears in full, establish a periodic payment schedule, or be excused from failure to comply with the warrant or subpoena.

Rhode Island

R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-11.1-1 through 15-11.1-12

Business
Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of 90 days or more; or failure to maintain health insurance coverage

Reinstatement: obligor has 30 days from the date of the notice to request, in writing, a family court hearing. If an obligor requests a timely hearing to contest the issue of compliance, the department may not certify the name of the obligor to a board for noncompliance with a court order of support until the department receives a decision or order of the family court that finds the obligor is not in compliance with a court order of support.

South Carolina

S.C. Code § 56-1-171

S.C. Code § 63-17-1020 through § 63-17-1070

Driver's 

Occupational   

Professional 

Business  

Commercial

Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrearage of $500 and has not paid in 60 days.

Reinstatement: Noncustodial parent has 45 days to contact ICSSD and enter into a payment agreement.

Exceptions: Obligor may obtain a route-restricted driver's license so they can travel from work to home.

South Dakota

S.D. Codified Laws §25-7A-56

S.D. Codified Laws § 32-12-116

S.D. Codified Laws § 25-7A-56.1

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of $1,000 or more

Reinstatement:

  • Obligor has 10 days following the service of notice to request a hearing.
  • Obligor may be issued temporary driver’s license.

Exceptions: Department of Public Safety may issue a temporary permit, pending the issuance of a license, if the temporary permit is necessary for the licensee to work and if the Department of Social Services has determined that the licensee is making a good faith effort to comply.

Tennessee

Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-5-701 through 36-5-713

Business
Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of $500 or more; or 90-day delinquency.

Reinstatement: obligor has 20 days following the service of the notice to request an administrative hearing, pay arrears in full, or establish a payment schedule.

Texas

Tex. Fam. Code § 232.001 through § 232.010

Business
Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of three months or more

Reinstatement: obligor has 20 days from the date of the mailing or notice to request a hearing. Obligor is provided an opportunity to make payments towards overdue support under a court-ordered payment schedule. Failure to comply with repayment schedule will result in license suspension.

Utah

Utah Code § 78B-6-315

Utah Code § 62A-11-107

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: 60-day delinquency

Reinstatement: not specified in statute. Obligor may request an administrative or judicial review. Can obtain a judicial order staying enforcement of the support or arrearage obligation. Qualifications for judicial order not specified.

Vermont

Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 15, § 798

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 15, § 795

Driver's 

Recreational  

Business   

Professional   

Occupational

Delinquency Threshold: one-quarter of annual support obligation or noncompliance with an order.

Reinstatement: obligor has 21 days after notification to either contest the claimed delinquency or request an opportunity to present evidence relating to the noncompliance. 

Virginia

Va. Code Ann. § 20-60.3(6)

Va. Code § 46.2-320 et.seq.

Va. Code § 63.2-1937

Business
Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: 90-day delinquency or arrears in the amount of $5,000 or more; or failure to comply with a subpoena, summons or warrant

Reinstatement: pays the delinquency, reaches an agreement with obligee or the department to satisfy the delinquency or complies with the subpoena, summons or warrant.

Washington

Wash. Rev. Code § 74.20A.020

Wash. Rev. Code § 74.20A.320 through 74.20A.330

Business
Driver's
Occupational

Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears in the amount of six months or more or failed to make payments pursuant to a written agreement or required by a superior court towards a support arrearage

Reinstatement: the licensing entity or the department of licensing receives a copy of the release stating that the responsible parent is in compliance with the order shall be transmitted by the department to the appropriate licensing entities.

West Virginia

W. Va. Code § 48-15-102

W. Va. Code § 48-15-104

W. Va. Code § 48-15-202 et. seq.

Business
Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: arrears equal to or exceeding six months; or non-compliance with medical order for six months; or failure to comply with a warrant or subpoena.

Reinstatement: pays the full amount of the child support arrearage or medical support arrearage or provides proof that health insurance for the child has been obtained as required by a medical support order or enters a written plan with the bureau for child support enforcement for the payment of current payments and payment on the arrearage. Or a payment schedule is negotiated and agreed to between the obligor and the department.

Exceptions: If the suspension of a license will create significant hardship the obligor may enter a payment plan to pay arrears within one year while maintaining a license.

Wisconsin

Wis. Stat. § 49.857

Wis. Stat. § 49.858

Wis. Admin. Code DCF 152.10

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Business

Delinquency Threshold: 90-day delinquency; or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant

Reinstatement: paid the delinquent support or made satisfactory alternative payment arrangements or that an individual who failed to comply with a subpoena or warrant has satisfied the requirements under the subpoena or warrant.

Exceptions: Suspension period may not exceed five years.

Wyoming

Wyo. Stat. § 20-6-111

Wyo. Stat. § 20-6-112

Driver's
Occupational
Professional
Recreational

Delinquency Threshold: available to department and court when in arrears. Administrative suspension possible if more than $2,500 in arrears and delinquent for 90 days or more. 

Reinstatement: compliance with the court order or entered a payment plan approved by the department.

Exceptions: a temporary license may be issued for no more than 120 days.

Contact Us

For more information or to request technical assistance on state or federal child support policies and programs, please send a message to Children & Families staff. As a membership organization serving state legislators and legislative staff, we do not respond to inquiries or provide legal advice related to individual child support or family law cases.

Additional Resources