State Policies on Midwives and Doulas webinar

10/19/2021

webinar graphic

Friday, Oct 22, 2021 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

​Some states have increased access to midwives and doulas as one part of their state-wide strategy to address maternal and infant deaths and decrease related disparities by race, income and geography. Experts will discuss the roles of these professionals in maternity care in the United States as well as state policies related to midwives and doulas, such as licensing, certification and reimbursement for services. Two state legislators will discuss their state's actions on midwives and doulas, including lessons learned in their respective states.

This webinar is co-hosted by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs.

Register here!

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator:
  • Emily Blanford, program principal, NCSL Health Program

Speakers:
  • Jessica Stieger, program manager of infant health, Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs

  • Khanh Nguyen, project manager, NCSL Health Program

  • Delegate Lashrecse Aird, Virginia

  • Representative Stephanie Hilferty, Louisiana

This webinar is co-hosted by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs.​