State-based Strategies to Address Prescription Drug Abuse: Spotlight on Methadone as a Pain Treatment

11/30/2015

webinar graphic NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

State-based Strategies to Address Prescription Drug Abuse: Spotlight on Methadone as a Pain Treatment

Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2015 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

ARCHIVE AVAILABLE HERE: http://www.pewtrusts.org/en/about/events/2015/decreasing-risks-from-methadone-used-as-a-pain-reliever

Methadone, a synthetic opioid medication, has been used since the 1960s to treat addiction by alleviating symptoms of withdrawal from heroin or prescription painkillers. Methadone can also be used as a painkiller.

As the use of methadone for pain increased, so, too, did the number of overdose deaths involving the drug. Data suggest that the increase in methadone-related overdose deaths is due, in large part, to increased prescribing of the drug for pain management, not its use to treat addiction.

This webinar will explore policy options states may explore to reduce the risks associated with the use of methadone for pain, including strategies that West Virginia has used to address the problem.

Speakers:

  • Cynthia Reilly, B.S. Pharm, director, prescription drug abuse project, The Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Don Perdue, RPh, West Virginia House of Delegates
  • Matthew Rohrbach, M.D., West Virginia House of Delegates

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet