Increasing Access to Rural Behavioral Health Webinar

5/7/2021

webinar graphic

Friday, June 4, 2021 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

More than 20% of adults—or 1 in 5—experience a behavioral health disorder every year in the United States. Behavioral health disorders can be challenging to identify, screen for and treat, especially in rural communities and the supply of behavioral health providers often cannot meet the demand for services. This NCSL webinar will highlight state policy options for legislators aiming to increase access to rural behavioral health services including opportunities to improve crisis hotlines, increase access to opioid use disorder treatment and overdose prevention, leverage emerging health professionals to address workforce gaps and consider scope of practice and licensing policies for behavioral health professionals.

Register Now!After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers:
  • Kelly Hughes, program director – Access, Costs and Coverage, NCSL
  • Charlie Severance-Medaris, policy specialist, NCSL
  • Sydne Enlund, policy specialist, NCSL

This webinar is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of an award totaling $853,466 with 100% funded by HRSA/HHS. The contents are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official views of, nor an endorsement, by HRSA, HHS, or the U.S. Government.