Health Insurance State Flexibility

4/17/2015
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Health Insurance: What's Next for States and Flexibility

Friday, April 24, 2015
1 p.m. EDT/ Noon CDT/ 11 a.m. MDT/ 10 a.m. PDT

For decades, states have been primary regulators, and at times innovators, in the arena of commercial health insurance. Such policies provide coverage to more than 175 million Americans. The federal health reform law has led to a substantial increase in the number of insured. Counting all sources, fifteen million nonelderly adults gained coverage between September 2013 and March 2015 as the uninsurance rate fell from 17.6 percent to 10.1 percent.

While federal actions and requirements make headlines, state legislatures and executive agencies have considerable flexibility in how health insurance is marketed, sold and enforced. Issues such as defining and enforcing health premium rate review, patient cost-sharing, available consumer assistance and appeals, the use of expanded or narrow networks of providers and coverage for adult dependents are in the hands of many insurance departments.

This 60-minute webinar will provide an insightful and timely look at state options for action. Four national experts will share 2015 perspectives on what consumers, state policymakers, regulators and industry professionals face.

Adobe PDF logo To view PDF files, use or install Adobe Acrobat Reader.

"Speaker Presentations" (PDF file-24 pages)

This webinar will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

View Webinar

Moderator

  • Richard Cauchi, NCSL Health Program

Speakers

  • Brian Webb, manager of Health Policy and Legislation for the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). The NAIC represents the insurance regulators in all 50 states, D.C. and 5 U.S. territories. [bio]
  • Kevin Lucia, J.D., MPH, research professor and project director at Georgetown University's Health Policy Institute. [bio]
  • Leanne Gassaway, vice-president, State Affairs at America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP), California  [bio]
  • Representative James Dunnigan, Majority Leader, Utah House of Representatives [bio]

This webinar is made possible in part by a grant from The Commonwealth FundCommonwealth Fund logo

System Requirements
PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

The NCSL website does not utilize Flash technology, but our webinar provider does require the latest Flash plug-in. So if you would like to view the live webinar and have not updated your plug-in recently, visit the following URL:http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer.

Show System Requirements