Health Care Waivers Two-Part Webinars

8/1/2016
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

NCSL’s Two-Part Webinar Series on Health Care Waivers

 

Part 1:  Health Care Waivers 101

Thursday, July 28, 2016 | 4 p.m. ET/ 3 p.m. CT/ 2 p.m. MT/ 1 p.m. PT 

Medicaid continues to use a large portion of state budgets and remains one of the biggest challenges for lawmakers in terms of anticipating and controlling costs. This webinar provides an overview of Medicaid waivers in a two-part series. Cindy Mann, of Mannatt, Phelps and Phillips provides an overview for state policymakers, focusing on CMS 1115 and 1915 waivers as well as HHS Section 1332 waivers.

"Presentation Powerpoint" (PDF file-27 pages)

View the Webinar

 

Part 2:  Health Care Waivers in Action

Thursday, Aug. 4, 2016 | 11 a.m. ET/ 10 a.m. CT/ 9 a.m. MT/ 8 a.m. PT

The second of this two-part series about health care waivers focuses more specifically on the opportunities of HHS Section 1332 waivers, providing an in-depth look at how various states are proposing to use 1332 waivers to control rising costs and improve quality of care.

"Presentation Powerpoint" (PDF file-23 pages)

Cindy Mann, of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLC provides an overview of CMS 1115 and 1915 waivers, as well as HHS Section 1332 waivers for state policymakers. With more than 30 years of experience in federal and state health policy, Mann works with strategies around federal and state health reform, Medicaid, the Children’s Health Insurance Program, and delivery and payment system transformation. Her clients include states, providers, plans, consumer organizations and foundations.  

Download NCSL Report: Section 1332 Waivers - State Roles and Legislation as of 2015-2016NCSL 1332 report shows 15 states with filed bills and eight states with signed laws as of July 2016.

View the Webinar