Building a Framework for Evidence-based Policymaking

1/22/2016
webinar graphic

NCSL webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Building a Framework for Evidence-based Policymaking: Developing a Common Language and Asking the Right Questions

Friday, Feb. 26, 2016 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/  Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

“Evidence-based” policymaking is taking hold in states across the country, but there’s still some confusion about what it really means and how lawmakers can use data to better serve their state residents with limited taxpayer resources.

The Pew-MacArthur Results First Initiative has identified two critical steps that can help build a sustainable framework for data-driven policy making:

  • Establishing a common vocabulary by defining key evidence-based terms.
  • Providing policymakers and staff with seven key points that can help elevate policy debates, improve agency accountability, and make strategic resource allocation choices.

This webinar will provide policymakers and staff with an opportunity to learn more about evidence-based policymaking, using definitions to enact reform and asking the right questions can give lawmakers the power to uncover new information and invest in what works.

 

Register now

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator

  • Luke Martel, director of strategic initiatives, NCSL

Speakers

  • Representative Herb Frierson, Mississippi
  • Benjamin Fulton, associate, The Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Randy Sanders, deputy director, Mississippi Legislative Budget Office

Additional Resources

This webinar is made possible with the generous support of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

The Pew Charitable Trusts Logo


System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet