Fall 2020 Fiscal Webinar Series: Budget, Taxes and Pensions, Oh My!

9/2/2020

webinar graphic

The NCSL Fiscal Affairs Program is pleased to present Budget, Taxes and Pensions, Oh My! This webinar series features five different programs, each focusing on a different fiscal issue. They will be held on Thursdays, beginning October 15 and concluding November 19. NCSL webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desks. They are collaborative, interactive, and easy to use. Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live event.

Register for the full webinar series.

Public Pension Management Tools in Action, Part 1: Economic Scenario Modeling and Stress Testing in the Time of COVID-19

Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

What are the initial effects of the global pandemic on the national economy, state finances and public pensions? Join us to explore options for responding, with a focus on tools like stress testing during a downturn to help states make sound decisions and navigate future budget pressures.

Speakers: TBD 

REGISTER NOW

 

This webinar is made possible with the generous support of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Federal Stimulus: What it Means for States

Thursday, Oct. 22, 2020 | 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 10:30 a.m. PT

The federal government has authorized billions in state aid in response to the coronavirus pandemic. How have states benefited? How have they spent relief funds? This session looks at these questions and more.

Speakers: TBD 

REGISTER NOW

Public Pension Management Tools in Action, Part 2: Borrowing and Other Innovative Approaches to Stabilize Costs and Fill the Gaps

Thursday, Oct. 29, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

Tune in to learn more about various novel approaches being explored during the COVID-19 era to help state and local governments manage cash flow pressures. Take a closer look at how states are leveraging cost-sharing features to add stability and predictability to public pensions during a period of economic volatility.

Speakers: TBD

REGISTER NOW

 

This webinar is made possible with the generous support of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Budget and Tax Update

Thursday, Nov. 12, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

State revenue forecasts were so promising at the start of the year—but like many other things, they became a casualty of the coronavirus pandemic. Learn about the latest federal budget plan and hear how states are coping with record revenue shortfalls. Gain insight into recent state budget and tax actions as NCSL shares its newest survey information.     ​

Speakers: TBD

REGISTER NOW

 

Emerging State Tax Issues 

Thursday, Nov. 19, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

State taxes have been impacted by the Coronavirus Aid, Recovery, and Economic Security (CARES) Act and the pandemic-driven recession. This webinar dives into state efforts to adapt.

Speakers: TBD

REGISTER NOW