Distressed Localities: State Strategies to Detect the Warning Signs

11/29/2016
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Distressed Localities: State Strategies to Detect the Warning Signs

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2016 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

A recent study by the Pew Charitable Trusts found that most states have no policies or programs to assess the fiscal health of their local governments. As a result, when fiscal emergencies arise in localities—whether defaults, bankruptcies, or other budget crises—states are often taken by surprise. These events can produce concerns around credit ratings, public health and safety, and potential impacts to neighboring communities. In an effort to avoid reaching the crisis stage, 22 states have adopted policies and procedures to try to detect fiscal distress in local governments. This webinar will inform legislators and staff about steps they can take to identify fiscal distress in counties, cities, and towns, including perspectives from both legislators and executive staff. 

View the Webinar

PowerPoint Presentation

Speakers

  • Senator Daniel Da Ponte, Rhode Island
  • Terry Rubald, Department of Taxation, Nevada