Environmental Concerns in Child Care Settings

1/17/2020

webinar graphic

Friday, March 20, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desks. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

For young children in the United States, almost half (40%) spend their days in licensed child care facilities. States have enacted laws and policies to limit environmental hazards and promote better health and safety in child care settings. In 13 states, facilities are required to perform environmental tests for issues such as lead-based paint, lead in water, asbestos and radon. More than 40 states require fire, health or building code inspections.

REGISTER NOW

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator:
  • Doug Farquhar, director of environmental health, NCSL
Speakers:
  • Jennifer A. Freed, technical project officer, Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). ATSDR, based in Atlanta, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR protects communities from harmful health effects related to exposure to natural and man-made hazardous substances. 
  • Tarah Somers, registered nurse, MSN/MPH, director region 1, Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
  •  Legislator (TBD)