Solving the Nuclear Waste Storage Dilemma

9/3/2015
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Solving the Nuclear Waste Storage Dilemma

Thursday, Sept. 3, 2015 | 1 p.m. ET / Noon CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT

After decades of contentious debate, the president and members of the 114th Congress have released proposals on how best to dispose of nuclear waste. On March 24, the White House announced its strategy to adopt consent-based siting approaches for waste management that includes the development of interim storage facilities to accept spent fuel from decommissioned reactors. One the same day, several U.S. senators introduced legislation that would direct the federal government to establish both temporary and permanent storage sites for nuclear weapon and energy production waste.

Supporting these announcements, two companies revealed plans to design and license interim consolidated storage facilities—Texas-based Waste Control Specialists and Holtec International in New Mexico. This webinar will examine these federal proposals, how industry is answering the call for solutions, and what this means for the future of U.S. nuclear waste storage and disposal.

Speakers:

  • Everett Redmond, senior director of policy development, Nuclear Energy Institute | Presentation
  • Betsy Madru, vice president of government affairs, Waste Control Specialists | Presentation
  • Joy Russell, vice president of corporate business development, Holtec International | Presentation

‚ÄčView Webinar

Complete PowerPoint Presentation.

 

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet