NETWG Second Quarter 2018 Meeting

April 17-18, 2018

The Nuclear Energy Tribal Working Group (NETWG) will hold its second quarterly meeting on April 17-18, 2018 at the Department of Energy Headquarters, Forrestal Building, 1000 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, D.C. 

The goal of this meeting is to directly engage with Department of Energy-Nuclear Energy (DOE-NE) leadership in meaningful discussions on strengthening and enhancing tribal interaction and decision making, Science, Technology, Energy and Math (STEM) initiatives and cultural resources.



Tuesday, April 17

Welcome and Opening Remarks

 Opening prayer

 Overview of meeting priorities

DOE-NE Senior Management Discussion

  •  Ed McGinnis, principal deputy assistant secretary
  •  William Boyle, deputy assistant secretary
  •  Raymond Furstenau, associate principal deputy assistant secretary
  •  Suzie Jaworowski, chief of staff (via telephone)

 DOE-NE Program Update

  •  Jay Jones, physical scientist, DOE-NE
  •  Andrew Richards, deputy chief of staff, DOE-NE

 DOE-EM Updates

  •  Brandt Petrasek, director of tribal affairs

 DOE Tribal Consultation Document update and Energy Industry/Tribal Engagement

 DOE-IE Status of Funding Opportunity Announcement process and  ICEIWG Overview

  •  Carole Plowfield, acting director for the Office of Indian Energy Policy and  Programs
  •  Kevin Frost, deputy director

 DOE-LPO Tribal Energy Loan Guarantee Program updates

  •  Douglas Schultz, director of origination, Loan Programs Office
  •  Andrea Lachenmayr, attorney advisor, Loan Programs Office

 Small Modular Reactors Presentation via Teleconference

Nuclear Regulatory Commission Update

  •  Sandra Talley, senior liaison Project Manager

 DOE STEM Rising

  •  AnneMarie Horowitz, DOE public affairs specialist, STEM and  Workforce Development | Presentation

DOE Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP)

  •  Kenny Osborne, DOE-NE NEUP director

 NETWG STEM White Paper Presentation – Finalizing, Use,  Dissemination, and Next Steps discussion

  •  Talia Martin, director of Tribal/DOE-AIP Shoshone-Bannock Tribes Tribal Department of Energy
  •  Tanksi Clairmont, tribal working groups Coordinator, NCSL

 DOE-NE Outreach and Communications; Millennial Events

  •  Alisa Trunzo, and Mike Mueller, communications specialists | Presentation

 Leadership Structure and Rules of  Procedure discussion

  •  NCSL staff
  •  Brandt Petrasek, DOE-EM and Jay Jones, DOE-NE

 Day 1 wrap-up and adjourn


Wednesday, April 18th

Current Issues in the Nuclear Energy Industry

  •  Jon Carmack, senior nuclear energy advisor, DOE-NE

DOE-NE Integrated Waste Management and Transportation Programs

  •  Melissa Bates, general engineer
  •  Erica Bickford, transportation program manager

Tribal Executive Session and Work Plan review

Meeting wrap-up and adjourn

Post-meeting tours

 National Museum of the American Indian - Lunch and Tour

 Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP)

  •  Valerie Hauser, director, Office of Native American Affairs, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation