Making Renewables Work: How States and Utilities are Adapting to the Rapid Rise of Renewables

1/18/2016
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Making Renewables Work: How States and Utilities are Adapting to the Rapid Rise of Renewables 

Thursday, Feb. 4, 2016 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

Renewables are quickly expanding their role in the energy mix, buoyed by declining prices, EPA clean air regulations and government incentives. As states push to reach even higher levels of renewable energy, they are working to address the challenges created by the variable nature of wind and solar energy. Do high amounts of renewables threaten reliability? How are states addressing the rapid rise of renewable energy on the grid? Are there ways in which renewables can improve reliability?

This webinar will explore these questions and discuss the steps utilities, energy producers and policymakers are taking to cost-effectively integrate large amounts of renewables into the power system.

 

View the Webinar

 

Speakers

  • Barbara O’Neill, manager, Grid Integration, National Renewable Energy Laboratory  | Presentation
  • Stephen Beuning, director, Market Operations, Xcel Energy | Presentation
  • Eric D. Johnson, director, External Affairs, ISO New England Inc. | Presentation