ICEIWG 3rd Quarter Meeting - Portland, Ore.


The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Indian Energy (IE) held a quarterly meeting of the Indian Country Energy and Infrastructure Working Group (ICEIWG) on June 23, 2016, at the Embassy Suites by Hilton-Portland Airport in Portland, Ore. The meeting was sponsored by the Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Indian Reservation.

ICEIWG consists of elected tribal leaders who work collaboratively with U.S. Department of Energy to recommend policies and programs that support energy development, capacity building and electrification in Indian Country.

ICEIWG’s composition of 12 member tribes and two regional Alaska Native non-profits representing more than 56 Alaska Native Villages represent tribes that are developing energy projects, have already established them or can show an evidenced business interest in energy development. ICEIWG provides advice and recommendations on the strategic planning and implementation of DOE’s policies and programs related to energy resources, business and infrastructure development.

Alternative Text


Opening Remarks and Introductions

  • Chris Deschene, director, DOE Office of Indian Energy (IE), Policy and Programs
  • Delvis Heath, chief, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Indian Reservation
  • Jim Manion, general manager, Warm Springs Power

Bonneville Power Administration Update

  • Elliot Manzier, administrator, Bonneville Power Administration 

ICEIWG Administrative Business

Update and Discussion on Policy Agenda Development and Legal Restriction on Policy Recmmendations

  • Doug MacCourt, (DOE-IE), senior policy advisor, DOE-IE | Presentation
  • Liz Doris, principal laboratory program manager, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Formal Listening Session and Discussion: Quadrennial Energy Review (QER) 1.2

  • Matt McGovern, Office of Energy Policy and System Analysis (EPSA) | Presentation

U.S. General Services Administration Overview and Discussion on Procurement Guidance

  • George E. Northcroft, regional administrator, Northwest/Arctic Region, U.S. GSA | Presentation


  • Senator John McCoy (WA), chair of the Energy, Natural Resources and Transportation Committee, National Caucus of Native American State Legislators, National Conference of State Legislatures

Update and Energy Program Activities from the Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians (ATNI)

  • Direlle Calica, senior policy analyst, ATNI | Presentation