Looking Back to Look Ahead: How 2020 May Guide the Future of Elections

12/14/2020

webinar graphic

Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

2020 was a year like no other. Covid-19 caused a health care crisis, a rocky economy—and seismic changes in how elections are run in the United States. According to many observers it was also the best-administered general election ever. Now’s the time for a look-back on the 2020 elections processes, from the presidential primaries through the state primaries and on to the general election. What changed, what issues came to the forefront because of those changes, and what can state legislators and election officials glean from 2020 to make elections in 2022 and beyond even better?

The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and the Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota are collaborating on a project that would bring together policymakers and election administrators to explore these questions through a series of webinars and ancillary activities.

View Webinar Here

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator:
  • Wendy Underhill, Director, Elections & Redistricting, NCSL
Speakers:
  • Senator Daniel Ivey-Soto, New Mexico
  • Senator Greg Walker, Indiana
  • Mark Goins, Coordinator of Elections, Tennessee
  • Keesha Gaskins-Nathan, Director of Democratic Practice - United States, Rockefeller Brothers Fund
  • Tammy Patrick, Senior Advisor, Democracy Fund