Lessons Learned From the 2020 Primaries

7/20/2020

Alternative Text

Now, before we’re in the thick of November’s election fever, is an excellent time to pause and reflect on this year’s primary season. What did we learn from the states, starting from Iowa’s caucuses in February all the way through September’s state primaries? We’ll discuss the timing for primaries, whether state and presidential primaries are best run jointly or as two separate events, how ranked-choice voting performed this year, independent voters role in political party decisionmaking and more. Expect to take away ideas for 2022 or 2024. 

Sept. 9, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

REGISTER NOW

Moderator:

  • Wendy Underhill, director, Elections and Redistricting, NCSL

Speakers:

  • Paul Pate, secretary of state, Iowa
  • Rob Richie, president and CEO, FairVote
  • Scott Saiki, speaker of the House and NCSL president-elect, Hawaii