2010 Post-Election Control of State Government: Legislature and Governor

This map shows control of state government--the legislature and the governor's office--following the Nov. 2, 2010, election.



Republican Democratic Divided Nonpartisan Undecided



2010 Election Note

Four states--Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey and Virginia--and three Senates--Kansas, New Mexico and South Carolina--do not have legislative elections in 2010. The Nebraska legislature is unicameral and nonpartisan. Live 2010 post-election results are based on unofficial results pending certification by their respective election officials.