2010 Post-Election Party Control of State Legislatures

This map shows control of state legislatures after the Nov. 2, 2010, election. There were 6,115 seats in 46 states up for election of a total 7,382 state legislative seats.

Republican Democratic Divided Nonpartisan Undecided



2010 Election Note

Four states--Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey and Virginia--and three Senates--Kansas, New Mexico and South Carolina--do not have legislative elections in 2010. The Nebraska legislature is unicameral and nonpartisan. Live 2010 post-election results are based on unofficial results pending certification by their respective election officials.