2010 Election: Legislature Party Control Switch

This map shows legislatures that changed party control as a result of the Nov. 2 election. 

Now Republican Now Democrat Now Divided



2010 Election Note

Four states--Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey and Virginia--and three Senates--Kansas, New Mexico and South Carolina--do not have legislative elections in 2010. The Nebraska legislature is unicameral and nonpartisan. Live 2010 post-election results are based on unofficial results pending certification by their respective election officials.