COVID-19: Education, Child Care and Nutrition

3/20/2020

webinar coronavirus ncsl

Friday, April 3, 2020 | 2:30 p.m. ET/ 1:30 p.m. CT/ 12:30 p.m. MT/ 11:30 a.m. PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desks. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

A majority of states have closed K-12 schools and colleges and universities have shifted to online classes, sending students home in many cases. Guidance and directives to child care programs have been mixed, forcing providers to choose between risking their own health if they remain open or going without income if they close. These decisions can adversely affect parents who take off work to care for their child, as well as young children and students who rely on child care providers and schools for meals. As a result, state and school officials are grappling with how to ensure young children and students of all ages are safe, fed and learning. Our experts will explore public policies in these critical areas.

REGISTER NOW

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator:
  • Molly Ramsdell, division director, State-Federal Relations, NCSL
Speakers:
  • Austin Reid, education committee director, NCSL State-Federal Affairs
  • Jennifer Palmer, policy associate, early care and education project, NCSL's Children and Families Program
  • Michelle Exstrom, group director, NCSL's Education Program

Ann Morse, federal affairs counsel, NCSL's Hunger Partnership