Supreme Court Preview

10/14/2020

image of the Supreme Court Building

Monday, Oct. 26, 2020 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

REGISTER NOW

The Supreme Court’s new term has begun and promises to be chock-full of cases with state impact. Tune in to hear which cases SCOTUS will consider from the State and Local Legal Center’s Lisa Soronen, as well as the impact of the court vacancy with the passing of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

Speaker:

  • Lisa Soronen, director, State and Local Legal Center

 

Lisa Soronen is the executive director of the State and Local Legal Center. In this role, Soronen files amicus curiae briefs to the U.S. Supreme Court on behalf of members of the Big Seven (National Governors Association, National Conference of State Legislatures, Council of State Governments, National League of Cities, United States Conference of Mayors, National Association of Counties and International City/County Management Association) in cases affecting state and local government. Before joining the SLLC, Soronen worked for the National School Boards Association and the Wisconsin Association of School Boards, and she clerked for the Wisconsin Court of Appeals. She earned her J.D. at the University of Wisconsin Law School and is a graduate of Central Michigan University.