Sex Offender Legislation Introduced in State Legislatures

February 7, 2011

An NCSL search of State Net bill information finds that as of February 2, 2011, at least 85 bills in 26 states have been introduced so far this year on sex offender policy and procedure. Legislation varies in scope and purpose, with many introduced measures taking up policies that are included in the SORNA (Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act) mandates in the federal Adam Walsh Act. 

SORNA-related legislation pending in state legislatures includes measures that: 

  • Expands the group of offenders or offenses that require registration, or expands registration information that must be provided (Alaska, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, Wyoming)
  • Provides for in-person registration, addresses failure to register, or other registration penalties or restrictions (Arkansas, Colorado, California, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming)
  • Increases public access to registration information (Arkansas, Arizona, Illinois, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon)

Enacted state sex offender legislation is updated twice a year in an online database on NCSL’s website.

Statenet logo  

NCSL’s Criminal Justice Program is in Denver, Colorado at 303-364-7700 or .