July 9, 2012


The Honorable Lamar Smith                                      The Honorable John Conyers
Chair, House Judiciary Committee                            Ranking member, House Judiciary Committee
2409 Rayburn House Office Building                        2426 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515                                             Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Smith and Ranking Member Conyers:

We, the undersigned groups, represent a broad cross-section of the criminal and juvenile justice systems in states and local communities across the nation. We write today to offer our strongest support for H.R. 6062, the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program Reauthorization Act of 2012. Under current law, the Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (Byrne JAG) program is authorized through September 30, 2012. We consider it of the highest priority that the program is reauthorized before it is allowed to expire. Therefore, we urge quick approval of H.R. 6062 which will extend the program’s authorization through Fiscal Year 2017. 

Byrne JAG is the cornerstone federal crime-fighting program, supporting the federal government’s crucial role in spurring innovation, as well as testing and replicating evidence-based practices nationwide. States and localities use Byrne JAG to test emerging and evidence-based approaches to the public safety challenges in their jurisdictions. Because Byrne JAG is flexible, states and local communities are able to use Byrne JAG to address needs and fill gaps across the entire criminal justice system. Flexibility is a hallmark of the Byrne JAG program and one that is vitally important. Criminal justice is a system, the activities and priorities of one component impacting the activities and priorities of the other components. Only when the system is functioning in balance can the public safety truly be protected. 

We strongly support the reauthorization of the Byrne JAG program before its expiration in recognition of the central role Byrne JAG plays in preventing victimization and fighting crime in neighborhoods across our country and in leveraging other federal, state, local and private dollars to support the balanced functioning of the criminal justice system. Thank you for your consideration.


Jack Cutrone
National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA)

Sheriff Larry Amerson
National Sheriffs Association (NSA)

Tom Cochran
CEO and Executive Director
The U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM)

Darrel W Stephens
Executive Director
Major Cities Chiefs Association (MCCA)

Sheriff Rich Stanek
Major County Sheriffs’ Association (MCSA)

Ron Brooks
National Narcotics’ Officers Associations’ Coalition (NNOAC)

Dennis Hallion
Executive Director
National Troopers Coalition (NTC)

Carl Wicklund
Executive Director
American Probation and Parole Association (APPA)

David LaBahn
Association of Prosecuting Attorneys (APA)

Larry E. Naake
Executive Director
National Association of Counties (NACo)

William T. Pound
Executive Director
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

Robert J. Kasabian
Executive Director
American Jail Association (AJA)

Will Marling
Executive Director
National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA)

Michael Thompson
Executive Director
Council of State Governments Justice Center

Jan Scully
National District Attorneys Association (NDAA)

Arthur T. Dean                                                
Major General, U.S. Army, Retired                             
Chairman and CEO
Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America (CADCA)

Gabrielle de la Gueronniere
Director for National Policy
Legal Action Center (LAC)

Dan Eddy
Executive Director
National Association of Crime Victims’ Compensation Boards (NACVCB)

Tim Murray
Executive Director
Pretrial Justice Institute

Ronald C. Sloan
Association of State Criminal Investigative Agencies (ASCIA)

West Huddleston
Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director
National Association of Drug Court Professionals (NADCP)

Mai Fernandez
Executive Director
National Center for Victims of Crime (NCVC)

Susan Valle
National Association of Prosecutor Coordinators (NAPC)

Scott Berkowitz
Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)

William J. Johnson
Executive Director
National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO)

Ron Hawley
Executive Director

Philip Duane Steen
National Alliance of State Drug Enforcement Agencies (NASDEA)

Roberta Meyers Peeples
National H.I.R.E. Network

Dennis Slocumb
Executive Vice President
International Union of Police Associations (IUPA)

Diane DeAngelis
Association of VAWA Administrators (AVA)

Bruce Ferrell
National Alliance of Gang Investigators' Associations (NAGIA)

Robert I. L. Morrison
Executive Director
National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD)

Edwin Maldonado
National President
National Latino Peace Officers Association (NLPOA)

George and Camille Camp
Co-Executive Directors
Association of State Correctional Administrators (ASCA)

Edward J. Loughran
Executive Director
Council of Juvenile Correctional Administrators (CJCA)

James A. Gondles, Jr.
Executive Director
American Correctional Association (ACA)

Steve Ambrosini
Executive Director
IJIS Institute

Stacie Rumenap
Stop Child Predators