Legislative Sessions and the Coronavirus


california legislative chamber

NCSL is tracking the impact the coronavirus (COVID-19) may have on state legislatures, including suspension or postponement of legislative sessions. As of May 26, 2020, at least 9 legislatures (Georgia, Iowa, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, Northern Mariana Islands, Rhode Island and Tennessee) have postponed their legislative session. 

This information will be updated regularly. For information on regular legislative session dates click here. In addition, NCSL is also tracking the postponement or suspension of committee meetings, changes in legislative procedures and operations, and remote participation due to the coronavirus (COVID-19).


State Session Status 
Alabama Adjourned sine die May 18.
Alaska Adjourned sine die May 19.
Arizona Adjourned sine die May 8.
Arkansas Special session March 26-28 on budget. Adjourned sine die April 24.
California Reconvened House May 4 and Senate May 11.
Colorado Reconvened May 26.
Connecticut Adjourned sine die May 6.
Delaware Reconvened May 26.
Florida Adjourned sine die March 19.
Georgia Special session March 16. Adjourned until June 11.
Hawaii Reconvened May 11.
Idaho Senate adourned sine die March 19. House adjourned sine die March 20.
Illinois Special session May 20-24.
Indiana Adjourned sine die March 11.
Iowa Suspended until June 3.
Kansas Reconvened May 21.
Kentucky Reconvened April 14.
Louisiana Reconvened May 4.
Maine Adjourned sine die March 17.
Maryland Adjourned sine die March 18.
Massachusetts Convened April 30.
Michigan Convened April 7.
Minnesota Reconvened April 7.
Mississippi Reconvened May 7.
Missouri Adjourned sine die May 17.
Montana Not in session in 2020; interim committee meetings canceled. 
Nebraska Adjourned until July 20.
Nevada Not in session in 2020; most interim committee meetings canceled in March.
New Hampshire Adjourned until further notice.
New Jersey Assembly convened via teleconference March 25. Assembly and Senate scheduled quorum April 9. Senate remote voting session April 13.
New Mexico Adjourned sine die Feb. 20.   
New York Assembly last convened March 18. Senate adjourned until further notice.
North Carolina Convened April 29.
North Dakota Not in session in 2020. A couple of committee meetings have been canceled.
Ohio Next voting session April 28.
Oklahoma Reconvened regular session April 6. Special session convened April 6.
Oregon Adjourned sine die March 8.
Pennsylvania House and Senate convened floor sessions using remote participation and voting week of March 23.
Rhode Island Canceled session and committees through May 1.
South Carolina Reconvened May 12.
South Dakota Adjourned sine die March 30.
Tennessee Will recess until June 1 following week of March 16. All legislative offices will be closed for two weeks beginning March 23.
Texas  Not in session in 2020; Senate interim committees postponed.
Utah Adjourned sine die March 12. Special sessions April 16, April 17 and April 23. Adjourned special session sine die April 23.
Vermont Quorum on April 8. 
Virginia Adjourned sine die March 12. Veto session on April 22.
Washington Adjourned sine die March 12.
Washington, D.C. No suspension or postponement of the legislative session has been announced.
West Virginia Adjourned sine die March 7.
Wisconsin Special session April 4-8 on election. 
Wyoming Adjourned sine die March 12.
Puerto Rico  
American Samoa  
Guam Reconvened April 16.
Northern Mariana Islands Suspended as of March 16.
Virgin Islands Reconvened May 7.