Skip to main content
Expand All

NCNASL Leadership

Executive Committee Members

  • Chair: Sen. Benny Shendo, New Mexico
  • Vice Chair: Rep.Ruth Buffalo, North Dakota
  • Secretary: Rep. Ajay Pittman, Oklahoma
  • Treasurer: Rep. Jonathan Windy-Boy, Montana
  • Peace Keeper: Rep. Ken Luttrell, Oklahoma

Policy Committees

Economic Development and Telecommunications

  • Chair: Rep. Shawn Bordeaux, South Dakota
  • Vice Chair: Rep. Ken Lutrell, Oklahoma

This committee addresses all topics associated with economic development including financial partnerships, the Board of Business Advisors and corporate investments in Native communities.


  • Chair: Sen. Mary Kunesh-Podein, Minnesota
  • Vice Chair: Sen. Sally Ann Gonzales, Arizona

The Education Committee covers issues such as early childhood education, the achievement gap, cultural competency and secondary education.

Energy, Natural Resources and Transportation

  • Chair: Sen. Jamescita Peshlakai, Arizona
  • Vice Chair: Rep. Lynn DeCoite, Hawaii

Members concentrate on the subjects of renewable and nuclear energy, water and climate change. They also attend to transportation and environmental issues.

Health and Human Services

  • Chair: Rep. Tiffany Zulkosky, Alaska
  • Vice Chair: Rep. Ajay Pittman, Oklahoma

In addition to general health, which includes wellness, traditional medical practices and mental health, members are responsible for human services and criminal justice issues.

DO NOT DELETE - NCSL Search Page Data

  • Contact NCSL

  • For more information on this topic, use this form to reach NCSL staff.