More Resources


  • Meagan Dorsch
    Director of Public Affairs
  • Jon Kuhl
    Public Affairs Specialist
    Washington, D.C.
Aug. 9, 2012

NCSL Welcomes New Leadership

Norelli, Starr and Spaw set to lead national organization for 2012-13

The National Conference of State Legislatures' (NCSL) new leadership team of experienced legislators and legislative staffers is ready to serve the organization over the next year. 

Representative Terie Norelli of New Hampshire is the new president of NCSL. A Democrat, Representative Norelli succeeded Kansas Senate President Stephen R. Morris, a Republican. The position alternates between the two political parties each year.

Republican Oregon Senator Bruce Starr is the new president-elect of NCSL. Starr will become president of the organization in 2013 at the NCSL Legislative Summit in Atlanta. Assemblywoman Debbie Smith of Nevada has been elected vice president of the organization. Smith currently serves as the Speaker Pro Tempore and chairman of the Ways & Means Committee.
Patsy Spaw has ascended to the position of staff chair of NCSL. Spaw has served as staff vice chair over the last year. Tom Wright has become vice staff chair of NCSL for 2012-2013. Wright is the chief of staff to the Alaska Speaker of the House Mike Chenault.
These officials assumed their new leadership roles at the 2012 NCSL Legislative Summit in Chicago. NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves all the of nation’s 7,382 state lawmakers and more than 20,000 legislative staff.

The officers lead NCSL's Executive Committee, which is the governing body of the Conference. The executive committee and Conference officers have supervision, control and direction of the affairs of the Conference, its committees and publications. It also implements the policies and supervises the disbursement of its funds.

NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.