NCSL Welcomes New Leadership


NCSL NewsNew Officers Were Elected at Legislative Summit in Chicago 

Chicago—Iowa State Senator Mike Gronstal (D) became president of the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) during the organization’s 42nd annual Legislative Summit in Chicago. Gronstal succeeds the Republican Senator Curt Bramble of Utah.

NCSL, a bipartisan organization that serves all 7,383 state lawmakers and more than 20,000 legislative staff throughout the country, alternates its leadership between the two political parties annually.

Gronstal says one of his priorities will be to continue to enhance NCSL’s role in strengthening and supporting state legislatures in an often contentious political environment.

“I look forward to keeping NCSL strong and helping to ensure that the voice of the states is heard in Washington,” said Gronstal upon accepting his new position. “NCSL is dedicated to bipartisan approaches to solving problems and I look forward to working with the staff and my fellow colleagues from around the nation.”

Gronstal has served in the Iowa Senate since 1985 and currently serves as Senate majority leader and chairs the Rules and Administration Committee. During his years of service, Gronstal has focused on better jobs, education and health care for all Iowans. His legislative agenda in the Senate includes addressing Iowa’s shortage of skilled workers through funding greater opportunities for job training in Iowa’s community colleges, school districts and adult education programs.

Other officers elected were:

  • South Dakota Senator Deb Peters (R), president-elect. She will become NCSL’s president next year at the 2017 NCSL Legislative Summit. Peters has been representing District 9 in the South Dakota Senate since 2011. In the preceding years, she served consecutively in the South Dakota House of Representatives beginning in 2005.
  • New Mexico Senator Michael Sanchez (D), vice president. He will become NCSL’s president at the 2018 NCSL Legislative Summit. Sanchez has served in the Senate since being elected in 1993 and is currently the Senate Majority Leader.
  • Raúl Burciaga of New Mexico’s Legislative Council Service, staff chair. Burciaga joined the New Mexico Legislative Council Service in 2000 after graduating from the University of New Mexico School of Law.  He formerly served on the Executive Committee of NCSL’s Legal Services Staff Section, as staff chair of NCSL’s Standing Committee on Health, and on NCSL Task Force on Federal Health Care Reform.
  • Chuck Truesdell of Kentucky’s Legislative Research Commission, staff vice chair. Truesdell has worked for the Kentucky Legislative Research Commission, first as an assistant public information officer, and now as a fiscal analyst. He has been on the Legislative Staff Coordinating Committee for seven years, and has chaired two of three existing LSCC subcommittees. He has also served as overall staff co-chair of the NCSL Standing Committees.

NCSL is governed by a 63-member Executive Committee, elected yearly, which includes both legislators and staff, under the leadership of seven officers. 

NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.