More Resources


  • Jane Andrade
    Director of Public Affairs
  • Jon Kuhl
    Director of Public Affairs
    Washington, D.C.
Aug. 15, 2013

NCSL Welcomes New Leadership

Officers Elected at NCSL Legislative Summit

ATLANTA—Oregon State Senator Bruce Starr (R) became president of the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) during the organization’s 39th annual Legislative Summit in Atlanta. Starr succeeds Democrat Terie Norelli, speaker of the New Hampshire House, who becomes immediate past president.

NCSL, a bipartisan organization that serves all 7,383 state lawmakers and more than 20,000 legislative staff throughout the country, alternates its leadership between the two parties annually.

Starr says one of his priorities will be to continue to enhance NCSL’s role in strengthening and supporting state legislatures in an often contentious political environment.

“I look forward to keeping NCSL strong and helping to ensure that the voice of the states is heard in Washington,” said Starr upon accepting his new position.

Senator Starr is serving his third term in the Oregon Senate after serving two terms in the Oregon House of Representatives. He has been actively involved with NCSL for more than a decade, including serving on the organization’s Executive Committee and Elections Reform Task Force, and chairing its  Transportation Committee and the Working Group on the Federal Surface Transportation Act Reauthorization.

Other officers elected were:

• Nevada Senator Debbie Smith (D), president-elect. She will become NCSL’s president next year at the 2014 NCSL Legislative Summit in Minneapolis, Minn. Elected to the Nevada Assembly in 2000, Smith became the first Nevada legislator to serve as an officer on NCSL’s 63-member executive committee when she was elected vice president last year. She has been active in NCSL for several years and served on the Labor and Economic Development Committee.
• Utah Senator Curt Bramble (R), vice president. Senator Bramble will serve one year as vice president, ascend to president-elect the following year, and then become president at the NCSL Legislative Summit in 2015. Bramble, who was elected to serve Utah's 16th senate district in 2000, has served as Majority Leader and chair of the Revenue and Tax, Business and Labor, and Retirement Committees. He currently serves as Senate President Pro Tem.
• Tom Wright of Alaska, staff chair. Wright serves as chief of staff for Alaska House Speaker Mike Chenault. He succeeds Patsy Spaw, secretary of the Senate in the Texas Legislature, who becomes immediate past staff chair.
• Margaret “Peggy” Piety of Indiana, staff vice chair. Piety is staff attorney for the Indiana Legislative Services Agency.

NCSL is governed by a 63-member executive committee, elected yearly, which includes both legislators and staff, under the leadership of seven officers

NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.