NCSL Recognizes Legislative Staff Achievements



NCSL press release

Nashville—Eighteen outstanding legislative staff will be recognized by the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) during its 45th annual Legislative Summit in Nashville.

Each of the nine legislative professional staff associations, staff network and standing committees within NCSL are allowed up to two awards. The 2019 Legislative Staff Achievement Award recipients will be recognized by NCSL Legislative Staff Services at the Salute to Legislative Staff Luncheon: Cultivating Credibility at noon, Aug. 6.

The recipients are:

National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT)

  • House Technical Support Services, Hawaii
  • Mendora Servin, Information Technology Manager, Legislative Data Center, California (retired)

Research, Editorial, Legal and Committee Staff (RELACS)

  • Mark Cutrona, Director, Division of Research, Delaware
  • Revised Statutes Title 12 Recodification Team of the Office of Legislative Legal Services, Colorado

NCSL Standing Committees

  • Jonathan Ball, Director, Office of the Fiscal Analyst, Utah
  • Lonnie A. Edgar Jr. Principal Analyst, Mississippi Joint Legislative PEER Committee

National Legislative Program Evaluation Society (NLPES)

  • Ken Levine, Sunset Commission, Texas (retired)

Leadership Staff Section (LSS)

  • Aurora Hauke, Chief of Staff & Legislative Budget and Audit Committee Aide, Alaska Legislature
  • Christie Getto Young, Chief of Staff to Senator Sal DiDomenico, Massachusetts

National Legislative Security and Services Association (NLSSA)

  • Tim Hay, Sergeant at Arms, Florida Senate
  • David Sauceda, Sergeant at Arms, Texas House of Representatives

American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

  • Brad Hendrickson, Secretary, Washington State Senate
  • Erin Gillitzer, Records and Journal Clerk & Ted Blazel, Sergeant at Arms, Wisconsin Senate

Legislative Information and Communications Staff Section (LINCS)

  • Erica Shorkey, Deputy Communications Director, Senate Democratic Caucus, Iowa
  • Tim Bommel, Photojournalist, Missouri House of Representatives

Legislative Education Staff Network (LESN)

  • Ben Leishman, Finance Manager for Public and Higher Education, Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst, Utah Legislature

National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO)

  • Patrick Goldsmith, Director, House Fiscal Division, Louisiana

Legislative Research Librarians Staff Section (LRL)

  • Catherine Wusterhausen, Assistant Director, Legislative Reference Library, Texas


NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.