More Resources


July 28, 2010

Dedicated Legislative Staff Win 2010 Award

Winners chosen by NCSL's 10 staff sections announced Wednesday

LOUISVILLE, KY. – Eighteen state legislative staffers or divisions have been honored by professional organizations affiliated with the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) for their dedication to legislative institutions.

NCSL's 10 staff sections and one staff network, are national associations of state legislative staff who serve in similar capacities across the country. Each one has chosen the 2010 recipients of the Legislative Staff Achievement Awards. Each staff section named at least one recipient.

"Staff who receive this award have demonstrated excellence in supporting the work of their state legislature and have helped strengthen the legislative institution,” said NCSL Staff Chair Nancy Cyr. "Winners of the Legislative Staff Achievement Awards represent the best of state legislative staff across the country."

Award recipients were recognized at NCSL's 2010 Legislative Summit in Louisville, KY. They are listed below under their member staff sections.

Standing Committee Staff Chair's Awards
Michael P. Adams, director, Legislative Information Services, Colorado General Assembly
Scott Kaiser, assistant secretary of the Senate, Illinois General Assembly

American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)
McDowell Lee, secretary of the Senate, Alabama Legislature
Patsy Spaw, secretary of the Senate, Texas Legislature

Leadership Staff Section (LSS)
Mary Sue Jones, ddministrative and fiscal assistant, Office of the President Pro Tem, Idaho Senate

Legal Services Staff Section (LSSS)
William Gilkeson, principal legislative analyst and staff attorney, Research Division, North Carolina General Assembly
Richard Sweet, senior staff attorney, Wisconsin Legislative Council

Legislative Education Staff Network (LESN)
Helen James, senior legislative attorney, Office of Legal Services, Tennessee General Assembly

Legislative Information and Communications Staff (LINCS)
Gwen Bailey, deputy clerk of the Senate, Virginia General Assembly

Legislative Research Librarians Staff Section (LRL)
Anne G Rottmann, librarian, Legislative Library, Missouri General Assembly

National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO)
William Marx, chief fiscal analyst, House of Representatives, Minnesota Legislature
Taryn Purdy, principal fiscal analyst, Legislative Fiscal Division, Montana Legislature

National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT) 
Terri Clark, assistant director for infrastructure, Kansas Legislature
The team of Mark Allred, Richard Amon and Stan Eckersley, Utah Legislature

National Legislative Program Evaluation Society (NLPES)
George L. Schroeder, South Carolina Legislative Audit Council (retired)
Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability, Florida Legislature

National Legislative Services and Security Association (NLSSA)
Lieutenant Ken Scheer, Texas Department of Safety

Research and Committee Staff Section (RACSS)
David Ortbahn, principal research analyst, Legislative Research Council, South Dakota Legislature

Examples of accomplishments recognized by the Legislative Staff Achievement Award include:

  • Helping to improve the effectiveness of the legislative institution.
  • Supporting the legislative process and the mission of the legislature. 
  • Exhibiting a high degree of professionalism, competence and integrity in serving the legislature and the public.
  • Contributing to the work of the National Conference of State Legislatures.
  • Demonstrating expertise in a particular field.
  • Contributing to existing knowledge.

NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.