Legislative Staff Achievement Awards 2018


NCSL Recognizes Legislative Staff Achievements

NCSL press release Washington, D.C.—Eighteen outstanding legislative staff will be recognized by the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) during its 44th annual Legislative Summit in Los Angeles.

There are nine legislative staff sections within NCSL. The 2018 Legislative Staff Achievement Award recipients will be recognized by NCSL Legislative Staff Services at the Salute to Legislative Staff Luncheon: Play-by-Play Leadership Lessons at noon, Aug. 1.

The recipients are:

National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT)

  • Legal Services 2.0 Project Team, Office of Legislative Counsel, California.
  • Division of Legislative Automated Systems, Virginia.

Research, Editorial, Legal and Committee Staff (RELACS)

  • Sharon L. Eubanks, Director, Office of Legislative Legal Services, Colorado.
  • Lilli Hausenfluck, chief editor, Division of Legislative Services, Virginia.

NCSL Standing Committees

  • Rachel S. Gudgel, director, Legislative Education Study Committee, New Mexico.
  • Julie Pelegrin, deputy director, Office of Legislative Legal Services, Colorado.

National Legislative Program Evaluation Society (NLPES)

  • Gary VanLandingham, Florida.
  • Colorado Office of State Auditor.

Leadership Staff Section (LSS)

  • Sheron Violini, deputy secretary for Operations, California Senate.

National Legislative Security and Services Association (NLSSA)

  • Lisa Macaulay, associate sergeant at arms, Wisconsin Senate.
  • Rick DeLeon, sergeant at arms, Texas Senate.

American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

  • Yolanda Dixon, first assistant secretary, Louisiana Senate.
  • Susan Furlong, chief clerk, Nevada Assembly.

Legislative Information and Communications Staff Section (LINCS)

  • Jeff Fossett, video communications specialist, Kentucky Legislative Research Commission.

Legislative Education Staff Network (LESN)

  • Patricia Walker, staff, Senator Lyman Hoffman, Alaska.

National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO)

  • Joel Michael and Steve Hinze, Minnesota House Research Department.

Legislative Research Librarians Staff Section (LRL)

  • Juan Carlos Ortega Cruz, librarian, Legislative Library of Puerto Rico (posthumous).
  • State Law and Legislative Reference Library, Maine.


NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.