Skip to main content

NCSL Recognizes 2022 Legislative Staff Achievements

For Immediate Release

July 13, 2022

Denver—Nineteen outstanding current and former legislative staff, along with two legislative agencies, will be recognized by the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) during its 2022 Legislative Summit.  

Presenting up to two awards each are NCSL’s nine professional staff associations, the Legislative Education Staff Network, and the staff co-chairs of the standing committees. The 2022 Legislative Staff Achievement Award recipients will be recognized by NCSL’s staff chair and the Legislative Staff Coordinating Committee (LSCC) at the “Salute to Legislative Staff” session at the Summit, Aug. 2. 

The recipients are: 

American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

  • Jay Braxton, assistant clerk, Virginia House of Delegates 
  • Tim Sekerak, chief clerk, Oregon House of Representatives 

Leadership Staff Professional Association (LSPA) 

  • Jake Smeltz, chief of staff to the speaker, Pennsylvania House of Representatives 
  • Aaron Goulette, chief of staff to the speaker, New Hampshire House of Representatives 

Legislative Information and Communications Staff (LINCS)

  • Will Tracy, communications specialist/videographer, Arkansas House of Representatives 
  • Press and Communications Office, Senate of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico 

Legislative Research Librarians Staff (LRL)

  • Teresa Wilt, deputy research director, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Nevada 
  • Eric Glover, legislative librarian, Legislative Services Office, Idaho 

National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO)

  • Melody DeBussey, former director of the Senate Budget and Evaluation Office, Georgia 

National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT)

  • Brian Hurst, director of Information Technology, Georgia General Assembly 
  • Becky King, systems analyst, Legislative Research Commission, Kentucky 

National Legislative Program Evaluation Society (NLPES)

  • James Barber, executive director, Mississippi Joint PEER Committee (retired) 
  • Michigan Office of the Auditor General 

National Legislative Services and Security Association (NLSSA)

  • Adam Elias, director of State House Security, Massachusetts Bureau of the State House 
  • Elizabeth Garzone, visitor services assistant director, Texas State Preservation Board 

Research, Editorial, Legal and Committee Staff (RELACS)

  • Julie Pelegrin, deputy director, Office of Legislative Legal Services, Colorado General Assembly 
  • Wendy Jackson, administrative services manager, Legislative Reference Bureau, Wisconsin 
  • Special Commendation: John Fellows, general counsel, Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, Utah Legislature 

Legislative Education Staff Network (LESN)

  • Ailey Kato, staff coordinator and counsel, Senate Committee on Early Learning and K-12 Education, Washington 

NCSL Standing Committees

  • Drew Murray, senior legislative analyst, Louisiana House of Representatives 
  • Eric Nauman, principal fiscal analyst, Minnesota Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis 

NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories. It provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues and is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of the states in the American federal system.

  • Contact NCSL

  • For more information on this topic, use this form to reach NCSL staff.