Child Care and Development Block Grant: Opportunities and Challenges Created by Reauthorization

11/17/2016
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Child Care and Development Block Grant: Opportunities and Challenges Created by Reauthorization

Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2016 | 3:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 p.m. CT/ 1:30 p.m. MT/ 12:30 p.m. PT

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) is the major source of child care funding to states. The CCDBG was recently reauthorized by Congress in 2014 with the intent to improve the quality and effectiveness of child care systems to support children’s development and increase its ability to provide a valuable work support for low-income families. The reauthorization of the law includes new requirements for states receiving these funds that fall into four major categories: health and safety standards, quality improvement, and family access and outreach. These new requirements will create challenges, and opportunities, for states as they move forward with implementation. Read about the CCDBG Reauthorization Act.

Rachel Schumacher discusses key components of the law and final rule, the timeline for effective dates, as well as important considerations for state legislators. The webinar call provided an opportunity for legislators to ask their important and pressing questions in preparation for the 2017 legislative session.

PDF | View the Presentation

View the Webinar


Speakers

  • Rachel Schumacher, Administration for Children and Families, Office of Child Care