Capitol to Capitol
An Information Service of NCSL's Standing Committees

Volume 17   Issue 33 - November 5, 2010


Forty-three sitting or former state legislators will serve their first U.S. House or Senate terms after prevailing in Tuesday’s election contests. That’s a little over half of the sitting or former state legislators who sought election to the Congress. We have included a list of the new members of Congress, for non-sitting members, the title reflects their last legislative position. Congratulations to the winners and please do not forget your state legislative roots when you go to Washington!


Connecticut – Rep. Richard Blumenthal (D)

Florida – Speaker Marco Rubio (R)

Kansas –Sen. Jerry Moran (R)

West Virginia – Sen. Joe Manchin (D)



Arizona 5th – Rep. David Schweikert (R)

California 19th – Sen. Jeff Denham (R) *

California 33rd – Assemblywoman Karen Bass (D) *

Colorado 3rd – Rep. Scott Tipton (R) *

Colorado 4th – Rep. Cory Gardner (R) *

Florida 8th – Sen. Daniel Webster (R)

Florida 12th – Rep. Dennis Ross (R)

Florida 17th – Sen.Frederica Wilson (D) *

Florida 24th – Rep. Sandy Adams (R) *

Florida 25th – Rep. David Rivera (R) *

Georgia 8th – Rep. Austin Scott (R) *

Hawaii 1st – Sen. Colleen Hanabusa (D) *

Idaho 1st – Rep. Raul Labrador (R) *

Illinois 14th – Sen. Randy Hultgren (R) *

Indiana 3rd – Sen. Marlin Stutzman (R) *

Kansas 1st – Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R) *



Kansas 3rd – Rep. Kevin Yoder (R) *

Louisiana 2nd – Rep. Cedric Richmond (D) *

Maryland 1st – Sen. Andy Harris (R) *

Michigan 2nd – Rep. Bill Huizenga (R)

Michigan 3rd – Rep. Justin Amash (R) *

Michigan 7th – Rep. Tim Walberg (R)

Michigan 13th – Sen. Hansen Clarke (D) *

Mississippi 1st – Sen. Alan Nunnelee (R) *

Missouri 4th – Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R)

Nevada 3rd – Sen. Joe Heck (R)

New Mexico 2nd – U.S. Rep. Steve Pearce (R)

North Dakota AL – Rep. Rick Berg (R) *

Ohio 15th – Sen. Steve Stivers (R)

Ohio 18th – Sen. Bob Gibbs (R) *

South Carolina 1st – Rep. Tim Scott (R) *

South Carolina 3rd – Rep. Jeff Duncan (R) *

South Carolina 5th – Sen. Mick Mulvaney (R) *

South Dakota 1st – Rep. Kristi Noem (R) *

Tennessee 6th – Sen. Diane Black (R) *

Virginia 5th – Sen. Robert Hurt (R) *

Virginia 9th – Delegate H. Morgan Griffith (R) *

Washington 3rd – Rep. Jamie Herrera (R) *

West Virginia 1st – Rep. David McKinley (R)

(List does not include incumbents)
* Denotes current state legislator

NCSL has tracked former state legislators in Congress since the late 1980s and reported that 46-52 percent of both houses’ membership combined have once served in state legislatures before serving in the Congress. The combined total for the 112th Congress to be seated next January appears to be in the 49 percent neighborhood. When all races are final we will send out the new list. (NCSL staff contacts: Michael Bird, Jeff Hurley)


Now that the dust has settled on the election, members of the 111th Congress are readying themselves for a lame duck session that starts on Nov. 15 and is likely to run into mid-December. But first they will hold freshmen orientation classes and organize for next year. Currently, there do not appear to be any leadership contests on the Senate side. On the House side, however, the No. 4 and No. 5 majority leadership slots are drawing contenders. Texas’ Jeb Hensarling is aiming at becoming the Republican conference chairman, succeeding Mike Pence of Indiana who has officially stepped down. Hensarling may draw competition from Minnesota’s Michelle Bachmann who is also a possible candidate for vice chair of the Republican Conference. Representative Cathy McMorris Rogers currently holds this latter leadership post but may have competition from Tennessee Representative Marsha Blackburn and Bachmann. On the Democratic side, Speaker Nancy Pelosi has announced she will seek the position of minority leader. After these decisions are made, a potpourri of tax issues, appropriations and program extensions will be left for after Thanksgiving.


The president’s Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform holds its next-to-last meeting on Nov.10, 2010. It is supposed to issue recommendations at the final meeting, scheduled for Dec.1, 2010. (NCSL staff contacts: Michael Bird, Jeff Hurley)