Call for Nominations | Kevin B. Harrington Award


Photo of Kevin B. HarringtonKevin B. Harrington Award for Excellence in Democracy Education

Nomination Deadline
May 15, 2014 extended to May 22, 2014!
Print Form (PDF)
Download Form (MSword)

Eligible recipients include lawmakers, legislative staff, chambers or entire legislatures, individuals or organizations.*  The recipient is selected by a seven-person committee of legislators, former NCSL presidents and legislative staff. The award will be presented at NCSL's Legislative Summit August 19-22, 2014 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Kevin B. Harrington was the founding president of the National Conference of State Legislatures. Throughout his life he was dedicated to improving citizens’ understanding of American democracy.

Nominees are judged on their commitment and efforts to furthering the understanding of the principles and practices of representative democracy among students of all ages and the public in general. Efforts considered include:

  • Advancing NCSL’s Legislators Back to School Program
  • Promoting civic engagement and education through legislative activities
  • Encouraging internships and fellowships in state and local representative bodies
  • Developing educational materials or curricula on the role of state and local legislatures to further public understanding of representative democracy