Excellence in State Legislative Leadership Award



ESLL Award

Congratulations to the 2010 recipient, House Majority Leader Representative Lynn Kessler of Washington Get Microsoft Silverlight

The Excellence in State Legislative Leadership Award is conferred annually to a state legislative leader who has worked to preserve and build public trust in the institution of the state legislature and whose career embodies the highest principles of leadership - integrity, compassion, vision and courage. This award is sponsored jointly by the National Conference of State Legislatures and the State Legislative Leaders Foundation.

Previous Recipients

  State Recipient
2009 West Virginia The Honorable Earl Ray Tomblin, Lt. Governor/President of the Senate
(Press Release)
2008 New Jersey
The Honorable Richard J. Codey, President of the Senate
The Honorable Steve Sviggum, Speaker of the House
(Press Release)
2007 North Carolina

The Honorable Joe Hackney, Speaker of the House
(Press Release)

2006 Colorado
The Honorable Andrew Romanoff, Speaker of the House
The Honorable Jimmy Naifeh, Speaker of the House
(Press Release)
2005 Virginia The Honorable John H. Chichester, Senate President Pro Tempore
(Press Release)
2004 Connecticut
South Carolina
The Honorable Robert M. Ward, House Minority Leader
The Honorable David H. Wilkins, Speaker of the House
2003 Idaho The Honorable Bruce Newcomb, Speaker of the House
2002 Washington The Honorable Sid Snyder, Senate Majority Leader
2001 Mississippi The Honorable Tim Ford, Speaker of the House
2000 Tennessee
The Honorable Lois M. DeBerry, House Speaker Pro Tempore
The Honorable Richard H. Finan, President of the Senate
1999 Indiana
The Honorable Robert D. Garton, Senate President Pro Tempore
The Honorable Roger D. Moe, Senate President Pro Tempore and Senate Majority Leader
1997/1998  Maryland The Honorable Thomas V. Miller, Jr., President of the Senate
1996 Massachusetts The Honorable William M. Bulger, Senate President